Reasons for Judgment — Binnie J. (McLachlin C.J. and Bastarache, LeBel, Deschamps, Fish, Abella, Charron and Rothstein JJ. concurring)
I. Facts
(a) Wolfe was using a 4 wheel drive truck which is commonly used by game hunters to access difficult terrains and drive in the bush.
(b) [Wolfe was in] poor physical condition, having a heart condition and difficulty walking, [he] was dependent on his truck to get to his hunting stand . . . .
(c) The muffler on the Wolfe truck was in poor condition and noisy, and had it not been, it is possible that Wolfe could have heard Herbison and his nephew talk.
(d) Although Wolfe says he was not intending to use the headlights on his truck to illuminate the target, he does not believe that he would have taken that shot had it not been for the headlights of the truck illuminating the general area to some extent.
((2003), 2 C.C.L.I. (4th) 44, at para. 11)
II. Relevant Statutory Provisions
239.—(1) Subject to section 240, every contract evidenced by an owner’s policy insures the person named therein, and every other person who with the named person’s consent drives, or is an occupant of, an automobile owned by the insured named in the contract and within the description or definition thereof in the contract, against liability imposed by law upon the insured named in the contract or that other person for loss or damage,
(a) arising from the ownership or directly or indirectly from the use or operation of any such automobile; and
(b) resulting from bodily injury to or the death of any person and damage to property.
258.—(1) Any person who has a claim against an insured for which indemnity is provided by a contract evidenced by a motor vehicle liability policy, even if such person is not a party to the contract, may, upon recovering a judgment therefor in any province or territory of Canada against the insured, have the insurance money payable under the contract applied in or towards satisfaction of the person’s judgment and of any other judgments or claims against the insured covered by the contact and may, on the person’s own behalf and on behalf of all persons having such judgments or claims, maintain an action against the insurer to have the insurance money so applied.
III. Judicial History
A. Ontario Superior Court of Justice (Manton J.) (2003), 2 C.C.L.I. (4th) 44
B. Ontario Court of Appeal (2005), 76 O.R. (3d) 81
1. Did the accident result from the ordinary and well-known activities to which automobiles are put? [The “purpose” test.]
2. Is there some nexus or causal relationship (not necessarily a direct or proximate causal relationship) between the appellant’s injuries and the ownership, use or operation of his vehicle, or is the connection between the injuries and the ownership, use or operation of the vehicle merely incidental or fortuitous? [The “causation” test.] [Emphasis added; emphasis in original deleted.]
Borins J.A. applied the test to indemnity insurance and held that the evidence here satisfied both the purpose and the causation branches. In his view, the 1990 amendment to s. 239(1), which added the words “directly or indirectly”, had “effectively removed the requirement of an unbroken chain of causation from the causation test” (para. 102). Borins J.A. observed that “Mr. Wolfe’s truck took on a special purpose as its use was the only way that he could travel to the site to join the deer hunting party” (para. 113), and that,
[w]hile Mr. Wolfe had not reached the deer-hunting stand when he shot Mr. Herbison, it is significant to the causation analysis that the reason that Mr. Wolfe had set out in his vehicle was to go deer hunting. He was engaged in deer hunting when, tragically, he shot Mr. Herbison, having mistaken him for a deer. While Mr. Herbison’s damages did not arise directly from Mr. Wolfe’s use or operation of his pick-up truck, there was a sufficient nexus between its use or operation and the damages sustained by Mr. Herbison to find that his damages arose indirectly from the use or operation of the truck. In my view, this is sufficient to satisfy the causation test. [para. 116]
the injury at some point may be sufficiently remote from the insured vehicle, perhaps in time, in physical proximity, or in some other way, that it could not be considered to have arisen directly or indirectly from the ownership, use or operation of the vehicle. However, I agree with Borins J.A. that based on the existing case law, the circumstances of this case fall within coverage under the statutory language. [para. 123]
Cronk J.A., dissenting, stated that “when Mr. Herbison was shot, the Wolfe vehicle was not being used for a purpose from which the injuries resulted” (para. 54). Moreover,
Mr. Wolfe’s negligent shooting of Mr. Herbison was an act independent of the ownership, use or operation of the Wolfe truck and the ownership, use or operation of the truck was merely incidental to the injuries sustained by Mr. Herbison. In my opinion, there was no nexus or causal connection, direct or indirect, between these injuries and the ownership, use or operation of the pick-up truck. [para. 62]
She would have dismissed the appeal.
IV. Analysis
. . . there still must be a causal connection between the injury sustained and the ownership, maintenance or use of the automobile and which causal connection is more than incidental, fortuitous or but for. [Emphasis added.]
Ms. Lefor’s decision to park her car on the opposite side of the road from her mother’s house and leave it running while she and her children darted across the street placed Netasha in a situation of danger and triggered the sequence of events that resulted in Netasha’s injuries. The alleged negligence of Karen Lefor after she left her vehicle does not preclude coverage . . . . [para. 8]
It is in the ordinary course of things for a child dropped on the wrong side of the street to “dart” to the other side to get to her grandmother’s house, with all the foreseeable risks that such a crossing entails. Lefor, in my view, is a very different case from the present case. In Derksen v. 539938 Ontario Ltd., [2001] 3 S.C.R. 398, 2001 SCC 72, the Court accepted that an intervening act may not necessarily break the chain of causation if the intervention can be considered “a not abnormal incident of the risk” created by use of the vehicle or is likely to arise in “the ordinary course of things” (para. 33). The same point is made by Laskin J.A. in Chisholm v. Liberty Mutual Group (2002), 60 O.R. (3d) 776 (C.A.), at para. 29. This reasoning applies to Lefor. The mother’s post-vehicle conduct was so closely intertwined with her negligent parking that from the perspective of causation, direct or indirect, the two were not “severable”; see Stevenson v. Reliance Petroleum Ltd., [1956] S.C.R. 936, at p. 940.
V. Disposition
Cases cited
- 76 O.R. (3d) 81 76 O.R. (3d) 81 ¶ 1, ¶ 7
- Amos v. Insurance Corp. of British Columbia 24164-1995-09-21 para 26, para 17 ¶ 8, ¶ 14
- Lefor (Litigation guardian of) v. McClure 49 O.R. (3d) 557 ¶ 9
- Consolidated-Bathurst v. Mutual Boiler item-2545-1979-12-21 para 9 ¶ 10, ¶ 11
- Derksen v. 539938 Ontario Ltd. 2001 SCC 72 para 33 ¶ 13
- Chisholm v. Liberty Mutual Group 60 O.R. (3d) 776 para 29 ¶ 13
- Stevenson v. Reliance Petroleum Limited / Reliance Petroleum Limited v. Canadian General I scr-1956-936 p 940 ¶ 13
- Citadel General Assurance Co. v. Vytlingam 2007 SCC 46 ¶ 14
- Borins J.A. Borins J.A., at para. 105 para 105 ¶ 14