Majority
Headnote
Fire Insurance—Falling Building Clause—Termination of Insurance—Evidence.—Where the property insured was contained in a. two-story brick building, the fact that, immediately before the fire started, and as the result of an earthquake, the front wall of the building, from the roof down to the second floor, had fallen down, leaving the roof unsupported in front so that the front part of it dropped and rested upon the second floor at the top of the first story, terminates the insurance, under a clause in the policy that “if a building, or any part thereof, fall, except as a result of fire, all insurance by this policy on such building or its contents shall immediately cease.” In the present case, the evidence showing the fact of such falling, and that it occurred prior to the starting of the fire, is without conflict.This is an action to recover upon a policy of insurance issued by the defendant, covering goods of the plaintiff contained in a two-story brick building situated in the city of Santa Rosa, known as the Shea Building. It had twe store rooms on the ground floor, one of which was occupied by Fountain. The second floor was divided into rooms used and occupied for offices and one room which was occupied by
The policy contained the following clause:—■
“If a building, or any part thereof, fall, except as a result of fire, all insurance by this policy on such building or its contents shall immediately cease.” The building referred to was the Shea Building aforesaid.
Upon the trial it was admitted by the defendant that it was liable to the plaintiffs for the loss to the full amount of the policy ($1,000), “unless it could make good its defense based upon” the above-quoted clause thereof. The fire was on April 18, 1906, and it immediately followed the earthquake which occurred at' fifteen minutes after five o’clock in the morning of that day. The evidence introduced by the defendant in support of the defense aforesaid showed that before the fire started the front wall of the Shea Building, from the roof down to the second floor, had fallen down, leaving the roof unsupported in front so that the front part of it dropped and rested upon the second floor at the top of the first story. This was the substance of the testimony of a number of witnesses who saw the building immediately after the earthquake. That this front wall was a substantial and important part of the building and that the falling thereof would immediately terminate the policy by force of this clause, cannot be seriously disputed. The defense was therefore established, and the order must therefore be reversed, unless other evidence raised asubstantial conflict on the subject.
We do not think the contention of the plaintiff that there was a conflict on that point can be sustained. The evidence of the defendant’s witnesses on the point was clear, direct, positive, and satisfactory. That on behalf of the plaintiff, which it is claimed creates a conflict, is in substance as follows :—■
The witness Burris, said that he made an examination of the front and rear of the Shea Building, that the rear did not seem to be damaged and that he did not see any break in the structure of the lower walls, nor any breaks in the structure of the Fountain store room. On cross-examination, he said that the “upper story seemed to be shook up quite a little; the windows were thrown out into the street in the debris.” Be
With regard to the time when the fire started, the theory
One of the instructions was as follows:—
“It is not sufficient for defendant, in order to avoid its
policy, to establish the fact that the building described in the policy in suit had, before it began to burn, suffered some injury, or that any part of the walls of said building had fallen before the contents of the building were destroyed by fire, td avoid its policy herein; but the defendant must establish by a preponderance of evidence that such a material portion of the building had fallen before the fire started as would have increased the fire risk which defendant assumed by its policy on such building and its contents. That if the evidence does not establish the falling of such a material portion of the building, then I instruct you to find for the plaintiff.”
In anticipation of a new trial it is proper to determine whether or not this instruction is correct.
Section 2611 of the Civil Code declares that “A policy may declare that a violation of specified provisions thereof shall avoid it, otherwise the breach of an immaterial provision does not avoid the policy.” We are bound by this statutory declaration of the law, whether it accords with justice or not. The clause of the policy on this subject is in substance the same as this provision of the code. To declare that, upon the happening of a given event, “all insurance shall immediately cease,” is but another way of saying that, if the event happens, the* obligation created by the policy shall become void. The effect of this section of the code, in connection with the fallen-building provision of the policy, is that the question whether the falling of a part of the building increased the fire risk or not, is wholly immaterial, provided the part of the building which had fallen at the time the fire started was a material or important part of it. The instruction was erroneous in so far as it directed the jury that the effect of the falling of the part of the building must have been to increase the fire risk and that, if it did not, the defendant would be liable. The parties had the legal right to make the contract that in such an event there should be no necessity for any inquiry as to the increase of risk therefrom and that the mere event should at once terminate the insurance, and having done so, the defendant is lawfully entitled to the advantage thereof. The instruction was imperative in its direction to the jury, and although other instructions given omitted the element of increase of risk they merely caused a conflict and did not cure the error. It is impossible to say which instruction the jury obeyed.
The question involved in this instruction is of no practical importance upon a new trial, unless the evidence should be more favorable to the plaintiff than that given upon the trial under consideration. For there can be no doubt that the falling of even so much of the building as Burris testified had fallen, would increase the risk of fire. It is proper to remark further that the evidence does not present the question whether or not the defendant would be liable if the fire had started in the building before any part of it fell, and before it reached plaintiff’s goods a material part of the building had fallen as a result of the earthquake and not as a result of the fire.
Other questions are discussed in the briefs in this case, but the probability that they will arise upon a new trial is so remote that we do not deem it necessary to consider them.
The order denying a new trial is reversed.
Cases cited
- Bastian v. British American Assurance Co. 143 Cal. 287 p. 765
- Clayburgh v. Agric. Ins. Co. of Watertown 155 Cal. 708 p. 765