Majority
This is an action against an insurance carrier to recover the amount of a judgment previously obtained against an assured. Plaintiff was injured in an automobile accident as a result of the negligence of S. K. Tucker, and the latter was insured against liability with defendant company. Plaintiff sued Tucker and recovered judgment for $2,019.48, which sum he was unable to collect, the latter being insolvent. Plaintiff then brought this action against defendant company. In its answer, the company set up the defense that Tucker’s report of the accident tended to show that he was free from blame, but that he had failed to co-operate with the company in obtaining information and witnesses, and, in addition, had failed to attend the trial to testify, although notice thereof had been given him and his expenses had been tendered by the company. It was further alleged in the answer that a request by the company for a continuance had been refused. At the time of the trial plaintiff moved to strike out that part of the answer setting up the above defense, and the court granted the motion. Judgment was subsequently rendered in favor of plaintiff and defendant appealed.
The policy of insurance under which defendant undertook to indemnify Tucker against claims for injury or death contained the usual ’ stipulations requiring the assured to report accidents, claims and suits, and to co-operate with the company in securing information, evidence, the attendance of witnesses, and in effecting settlements and in. prosecuting appeals. These conditions are clearly stated, and it is obvious that Tucker, the assured, failed to comply with them, and could not himself have held the company to its liability under the policy.
The policy under consideration here followed' the language of the act. The question before us is whether under that act the failure of the assured reasonably to cooperate with the insurance company in the preparation and trial of the action by the injured party may be set up as a defense by the company in the subsequent action against it to recover upon the judgment. - As already- stated, no uncertainty exists as to the terms of the policy or as to Tucker’s violation thereof. Our problem therefore is -solely one of statutory, construction.
Our first inquiry necessarily must be directed to the decisions in this state. The ease upon which plaintiff
Bachman v. Independence Indemnity Co., 112 Cal. App. 465 [ 297 Pac. 110 ], 112 Cal. App. 486 [ 298 Pac. 57 ], is another case which touches this question, but only by dictum. After some discussion and extensive reference to the Malmgren case, the court said in its opinion ( 112 Cal. App. 465 [ 297 Pac. 110 , 118]): “We are of the opinion that after
No other California case has dealt specifically with this question, and it must be obvious that the above decisions do not purport to determine it. In other states, the great majority of the decisions on similar statutes have held cooperation clauses to be enforceable, and the violation thereof by the assured to be a good defense against the injured party. The leading case is Lorando v. Gethro, 228 Mass. 181 [ 1 A. L. R. 1374 , 117 N. E. 185 ], construing a statute providing that when the loss occurred by reason of the injury or death, “the liability of the insurance company shall become absolute”. It did not state that the right to bring the action would be subject to the terms and limitations of the policy, as our statute does. Nevertheless, the court held that the liability was absolute “only in respect to the amount of the loss” and in the course of a thorough discussion said: “The clause does not mean that the other valid conditions of a contract of casualty insurance are abrogated. Whatever conditions are imposed by that contract, whether as to written notice by the insured to the insurer of any accident and claim, the delivery to the insurer of summons in ease of action instituted, as to time of bringing action on the policy, or otherwise, are left in full force, unaffected by this clause. ... It is almost inconceivable that the legislature would attempt to make an insurance company unconditionally liable to pay for a loss without giving it an opportunity to require any notices of loss or of actions at law, and thus to ascertain the circumstances out of which the loss arises, and its nature and extent at or near the time
The Court of Appeals of New York came to the same conclusion in Coleman v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co., 247 N. Y. 271 [ 160 N. E. 367 ], The statute under consideration differs from our own act in no substantial manner save in its requirement of return of execution unsatisfied as a basis of action against the insurance company. Chief Judge Cardoza said (p. 368): “By express provision of the statute, the action is to be ‘maintained by the injured person . . . against such corporation under the terms of the policy’. If the terms could be disregarded, insurers would be helpless to defend themselves against chicanery or covin. They might then be held, though there had been neither notice of the claim nor opportunity reasonably prompt to investigate the merits. Cf. Lorando v. Gethro, 228 Mass. 181 , 185 [ 1 A. L. R. 1374 , 117 N. E. 185 .]
“The plaintiff argues that a bankrupt holder of a policy colluding with an insurer, could refuse to co-operate, and thus enable the insurer to cheat the statutory remedy. With equal force, the defendant can argue that a bankrupt assured could collude with a claimant to fasten upon the insurer a fictitious liability. The statute was prompted by a definite mischief. Cf. Lunt v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 253 Mass. 610 [ 149 N. W. 660 ]; Roth v. National Auto Mut. Cas. Co., [ 202 App. Div. 667 , 195 N. Y. Supp. 865 ], Before its enactment, the insolvency of the assured was equivalent in effect to a release of the surety. The policy was one of indemnity against loss suffered by the principal, and loss to him there was none if he was unable to pay. The effect of the statúte is to give to the injured claimant a cause of action against an insurer for the same relief that would be due to a solvent principal seeking indemnity and reimbursement after the judgment had been satisfied. The cause of action is no less but also it is no greater. Assured and claimant must abide by the conditions of the contract.” (Italics ours.)
Many other well-considered cases are to the same effect. See Stacey v. Fidelity & Casualty Co., 114 Ohio St. 633 [ 151
In Royal Indemnity Co. v. Morris, 37 Fed. (2d) 90, the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit considered the California statute, declared it to be similar to that of New York, and followed the holding of Coleman v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co., supra. In Metropolitan Casualty Ins. Co. v. Colthurst, 36 Fed. (2d) 559, the same court considered our decision in Malmgren v. Southwestern Ins. Co., supra, and correctly concluded that it did not purport to decide the validity of conditions requiring co-operation.
The only cases which maintain a contrary view appear to be Finkelberg v. Continental Casualty Co., 126 Wash. 543 [ 219 Pac. 12 ], Metropolitan Casualty Ins. Co. v. Albritton, 214 Ky. 16 [ 282 S. W. 187 ], and Edwards v. Fidelity & Casualty Co., 11 La. App. 176 [ 123 South. 162 ]. In the Finkelberg case, there was definite evidence of collusion, for the assured gave the company a release. Nevertheless, the case was expressly disapproved on the point in question by the later case of Merriman v. Maryland Casualty Co., 147 Wash. 579 [ 63 A. L. R. 1040 , 266 Pac. 682 ]. In the Albritton case, the construction was of the policy and not the statute, and the decision was not grounded solely on the enforceability of the co-operation clause. The insurance company had knowledge of the suit and handled the defense. The court observed that no pretense was made “that any fact material
We see no escape from the conclusion that the violation of the co-operation clause by the assured was a valid defense against the injured party’s action. We say this with the knowledge that in some cases it may work a hardship on such party, who is ordinarily in no position to force the assured to co-operate. Further, there is the possibility of collusion between the assured and the insurance company, to defeat the rights of the injured party. This possibility is balanced, of course, by an equal possibility of collusion between the assured and the injured party to defeat the rights of the insurance company. (Coleman v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co., supra.) Neither of these possibilities, however, is properly subject to consideration here in view of the terms of our statute. It is not a compulsory insurance law, requiring every automobile owner or those in a particular class to secure insurance for the protection of the public generally. This latter type of statute, frequently found in the regulation of taxicabs and other carriers for hire, has usually been given a construction consonant with its purpose, as a result of which the injured party is permitted to recover against the insurance company regardless of the acts of the assured. (See Kruger v. California Highway Indemnity Exch., 201 Cal. 672 [ 258 Pac. 602 ]; Boyle v. Manufacturers’ Liability Ins. Co., 96 N. J. L. 380 [ 115 Atl. 383 ]; Devlin v. New York Mutual Casualty Taxicab Ins. Co., 123 Misc. Rep. 784 [ 206 N. Y. Supp. 365 ]; Cohen v. Metropolitan Casualty Ins. Co., 233 App. Div. 340 [ 252 N. Y. Supp. 841 ]; Marx, Compulsory Compensation Insurance, 25 Columb. L. Rev. 164.) Our statute regulates to a certain defined extent private policies of indemnity insurance. It deprives the insurance carrier of the defense of insolvency or bankruptcy of the assured, and it permits an action to be brought by the injured party on the policy after judgment against the assured, but the action is “subject to its terms and limitations”. The object of the statute, similar to that of. most of the other acts, was to reach a particular evil and not to make, this private voluntary
To give our statute any construction other than that which we have indicated would nullify part of its language and
The judgment is reversed.
Curtis, J., Preston, J., Shenk, J., and Waste, C. J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Malmgren v. Southwestern Automobile Insurance 201 Cal. 29 p. 747
- Bachman v. Independence Indemnity Co. 112 Cal. App. 465 p. 747
- Coleman v. New Amsterdam Casualty Co. 247 N. Y. 271 p. 749
- Kruger v. California Highway Indemnity Exchange 201 Cal. 672 p. 751
- Merchants Mutual Automobile Liability Insurance v. Smart 267 U. S. 126 p. 752