Majority
This action was brought to recover a loss suffered by plaintiff by reason of damage to a ten-ton truck, which it had sold under a conditional sales contract to one Thomas on November 28, 1932. From a judgment
At all times herein mentioned plaintiff will be referred to as Fageol; defendant Pacific Indemnity Company will be referred to as Pacific; and the defendant Detroit Fire and Marine Insurance Company will be referred to as Detroit or appellant.
The vendee had paid only the sum of $2,000 on the purchase price of the truck, leaving a balance of $7871.76. At the time of the purchase the Pacific issued its fire and theft policy of automobile insurance naming Thomas as the insured. Attached to the policy was a rider designated as ' ‘ vendors single interest coverage” or “V. S. I.” endorsement. By its terms Pacific insured Fageol’s interest in the truck against the peril of accidental collision or upset occurring while the truck “is in the possession of the purchaser, the purchaser has defaulted in payment thereon and the assured has re-possessed the automobile. ’ ’ One of the terms of the policy provided “This insurance shall be considered as excess insurance where any specific insurance exists in the name of or for the benefit of the assured on any of the property hereby insured and this insurance shall not apply nor contribute to the payment of any loss until any such specific insurance shall have been exhausted.”
Thereafter, on December 20, 1932, with the consent of plaintiff, Thomas requested Detroit to issue to him a policy of insurance upon his truck in an amount not exceeding the cash value of the car at the time of loss which was to be payable as interest may appear to assured and the beneficiaries to be named in the endorsements. Pursuant to such request, a policy was issued. The risks covered by the policy included “collision or upset” but it contained a “deductible” clause whereby the loss was to be only that in excess of $250. By one rider attached to the policy, loss was made payable to Fageol for damage to the chassis; by another rider loss was to be payable to Isaacson Iron Works on account of loss to the trailer or its body or to the truck body. One clause provided: “No recovery shall be had under this policy if at the time a loss occurs there be any other insurance, whether such other insurance be valid and/or collectible or not, covering such loss, which would attach if this insurance had not been effected.” Thomas accepted the policy at the time
On the 18th day of January, while Thomas was driving on a highway in the State of Washington, he collided with a guard rail whereby the truck was damaged in many parts. Its condition necessitated its removal for a long distance to the shop of Fageol in the city of Seattle.
Forty-seven days after the accident, with plaintiff’s consent, Pacific paid the Detroit premium and at that time plaintiff, at Pacific’s request, acquiesced in the issuance of the Detroit policy and the endorsement thereon on condition that it should not thereby be understood to release Pacific from liability under its “Single Interest Collision Coverage Endorsement. ’ ’ At the same time, however, Pacific agreed that, in event of loss and of Detroit’s fixed liability, Pacific would pay plaintiff the $250 deductible under the Detroit policy and its rider. Failing in its efforts to collect the balance of the purchase price on the 20th day of February, 1933, plaintiff terminated Thomas’ interest in the contract of purchase.
On the 19th day of January, 1933, oral notice of the loss was given to Detroit and a written estimate of the cost of repairs and the amount of the loss was, at its request, delivered to Detroit’s agent January 25, 1933.
On March 16, within sixty days after the collision, verified proof of loss was served on Detroit. By such proof no fact with reference to the Pacific insurance was concealed from Detroit. Both policies contained a provision that in event of loss or damage, plaintiff should protect the property from further loss or damage and that any act done in furtherance of that end should be considered as done without prejudice and for the benefit of all concerned and that all reasonable expense thereby incurred should constitute a claim under the insurance. It was to protect the truck from further loss or damage and to preserve it that it was removed from the scene of the wreck to Seattle at an expense of $281.50. This expense in moving the truck from the highway to plaintiff’s branch factory in Seattle, was expressly authorized and directed in advance by Detroit. Upon removal of the truck to Seattle, repairs were begun. The repairs were completed April 10, 1933. Detroit induced plaintiff to reduce the charges for making the repairs from
After this action had been commenced Detroit paid Isaac-son Iron Works its total loss in excess of $250.
Appellant has made much of its contention that Fageol never accepted the insurance. But the court properly found that Detroit never suggested the necessity for such acceptance ; that it was not concerned with the acceptance of the policy by the assured or by the beneficiaries; that no restriction or condition was imposed by Detroit as to its acceptance; that Detroit was ignorant of the negotiations of Thomas for its policy; that it had no knowledge of the payment of the premium with moneys of Pacific until after this action was filed; but that no knowledge with reference to either fact had been concealed; that on the day of the collision, the broker at Seattle, who had on behalf of Thomas procured the Detroit policy, advised plaintiff of the loss; that the Detroit policy and its endorsement constituted and was at all times specific insurance, existing in the name and for the benefit of plaintiff; that the Pacific policy was excess insurance as to plaintiff and as to the Detroit policy; that by its terms the Pacific policy was not to apply or contribute to plaintiff’s loss until the specific insurance of Detroit had been exhausted by plaintiff. Upon such findings the court adjudged that plaintiff was entitled to recover from both defendants the sum of $3146.81 with interest at 7 per cent per annum from April 28, 1933; but that Pacific should pay only such part of the judgment as might remain unpaid by Detroit and only in the event that plaintiff first exhaust the Detroit insurance without full satisfaction of the judgment.
At the outset, it will be understood that the determination of this case will be governed by the laws of Washington. The truck was sold to a citizen of Washington to be used there. By the contract of purchase, the venue of any legal proceedings brought by the vendor might be laid in any county of that state. The truck was not to be removed therefrom without Fageol’s consent. The Detroit policy was executed in Washington whose law by its terms should control. (32 C. J. 979, 980, 981, sec. 10; 55 C.
Detroit assigns as error the insufficiency of the evidence to support the decision that Detroit insured Fageol as well as Thomas. This claim is without merit. Thomas, as purchaser of the truck and as debtor to Fageol, was free to contract for insurance against not only his own loss but that of his secured creditor as well. This was done by Detroit’s attaching a special rider to the policy, as follows: “This endorsement applies to Fageol chassis only. Loss, if any, subject to all terms and conditions of this policy is payable to Fageol Truck and Coach Company.” Such special endorsement prevails over any contrary provision of the body of the policy. Since the rider made the loss payable to Fageol, the rider controls and Fageol became the “assured” (Aetna Ins. Co. v. Sacramento-Stockton S. S. Co., 273 Fed. 55 , 58; 32 C. J. 1160) and Thomas’ protection did not commence until Fageol should be wholly indemnified. Moreover, the contract of purchase provided that loss resulting from collision should be paid to Fageol to the extent of its unpaid balance. Detroit had knowledge of such provision as evidenced by warranty 6 of the policy, which declares the truck to have been purchased on a “Conditional Sales Contract”. That instrument contained clauses that Fageol might repossess the truck and hold it free of all claims of buyer upon his default; that buyer must insure the truck for an amount not less than the unpaid balance; that Fageol should, as Thomas’ agent, collect any insurance for collision. By such provisions Detroit assumed the risk of the title’s passing from Thomas to Fageol after a loss might occur. (Brown v. Northwestern Mut. Fire Assn., 176 Wash. 693 [ 30 Pac. (2d) 640 , at 643].)
Inasmuch as the policy and its endorsement made it payable to Fageol in case of loss, the latter’s rights luere fixed at the time of the loss. (Harrington v. Fitchburg Insurance Co., 124 Mass. 126 , 131.) The fact that an insurance contract is designed primarily to indemnify the titular owner in the case of a mortgage or the vendee under a conditional sales agreement against the loss of the insured property arising from a contingent or unknown event (Insurance Code, sec. 22) does not defeat the rights of a beneficiary named in the rider at the request of the assured.
Acceptance of insurance by Fageol.
It is next contended that Fageol never accepted the Detroit insurance. Acceptance was wholly unnecessary. Neither the policy nor its endorsement required acceptance by either beneficiary. No statute required such acceptance. Under the custom and practice of insurance companies, as found by the court, when, following Thomas’ application for a policy, it was issued to him, it became a binding contract for the benefit of the assured and his beneficiaries, for the term specified. It was found by the court that the plaintiff neither rejected the Detroit insurance nor concealed the fact of the repossession of the truck; that it was never falsely represented to Detroit that at the time of the accident there was no other insurance covering the truck or that plaintiff
But the ingenious argument of appellant that Fageol never accepted the policy is beside the point. While we have demonstrated above that plaintiff’s acceptance was, under the authorities, wholly unnecessary, at the same time there was nothing for Fageol to accept. The only “acceptance” which appears to have been appropriate or to have been actually indicated was that of Detroit at the time of Thomas’ application for a policy. There were no extended negotiations; neither was there any counter-offer by Detroit to Thomas following his request for a policy on his truck, such as would require an acceptance by Thomas or by either beneficiary named in the endorsement. (32 C. J. 1107, sec. 196.) The policy was ordered by brokers acting for Thomas on December 20, 1932. The policy was promptly forwarded. The same brokers remitted payment for the premium. That completed the contract which by virtue of the endorsement at once made Detroit contingently liable for loss to Fageol. Under the custom of insurance agents, Thomas had sixty days within which to pay the premium. It was paid and the whole thereof was never returned by Detroit to Thomas. He
Appellant makes much of the fact that Fageol declined to cancel its policy with Pacific when requested to do so after being advised of the issuance of the Detroit policy. Such request, however, was a gratuitous query of the brokers, not of Detroit. There was nothing in such refusal that would constitute a repudiation of the Detroit policy. Fageol had good reason to decline the substitution of the Detroit policy. Its premium was unpaid and it carried a clause whereby it could deduct $250 from any loss that it might be called upon to pay on account of damage to the truck resulting from a collision. To surrender the Pacific policy and accept in lieu thereof the policy of Detroit at a cost of $493 more than the cost of the Pacific insurance would have been justified on no sound business principle and, besides, Fageol would have lost that portion of the Pacific premium already earned. The only basis for Detroit’s claim of Fageol's rejection of the Detroit policy was Fageol’s refusal to take the Detroit policy “in lieu of the policy now in force.” Fageol originally acquired the Pacific policy and insisted upon keeping it in force because plaintiff was thereby indemnified against total collision loss. It maintained such position, as a result of which Pacific paid the Detroit premium on behalf of Thomas. Y\Te conclude, therefore, that the policy was accepted by Fageol—if acceptance has any virtue—and that after reliance had once been placed thereon, the rights of Fageol thereunder could not be impaired by any agreement of Thomas and Detroit. (13 C. J. 602, sec. 625.)
Rescission of Detroit policy.
An agreement made on July 14, 1933, by Thomas and Detroit to cancel the policy did not impair the rights of Fageol thereunder. Such rights were permanently vested at the moment of the loss. The policy, free from fraud, was issued on December 20, 1932. The truck was damaged the following January 18th. Verified proof of loss was served upon Detroit March 16th. The repairs, under the authorization of appellant, were completed April 10, and on the 17th
Detroit’s absolute debt to Fageol could not have been extinguished by Detroit’s acquiring manual possession of the policy subsequent to the loss. Indeed, it is not even suggested that any attempt was made by Thomas to absolve appellant from any obligation already incurred. Therefore, not only by the principle announced in the Nash ease, supra, is Fageol entitled to recover under the Detroit policy and its endorsement but its rights are unimpaired by the very failure of Thomas to antedate his surrender even if he had possessed
Repossession.
It is the contention of appellant that the repossession of the truck and the termination of Thomas’ interest under his contract of purchase, after the insurance loss effected the release of Detroit from the obligation to pay either Thomas or Fageol the amount of loss suffered.
In Brown v. Northwestern Mutual Fire Assn., supra, this identical question was determined. Pursuant to the terms of a conditional sales contract, the purchasers of real property, Dorothy Barger and husband, procured a policy from the insurance association whereby the insurance was to be payable first to the bank mortgagee in the amount of the unpaid portion of the first mortgage; secondly, to the sellers to the extent of the unpaid part of the purchase price of their equity; thirdly, to the purchaser. For breach of the contract the sellers, Brown and Bolton, terminated the Barger contract November 22, 1932, and filed suit to enforce the forfeiture of the Barger interest. While that action was pend
The truck, while in Thomas’ possession, having suffered impairment to the extent recited, the insurance money stood in lieu of the property destroyed. By its contract, as contained in the policy and its endorsement, Detroit contemplated that Thomas might fail to make good under his agreement of purchase; that the truck might be destroyed; and that the successor in interest to Thomas would be entitled to the insurance fund. If such was not intended by Detroit, the act of affixing the endorsement insuring Fageol’s interest was an idle ceremony. That the vendor under a conditional sales contract has an insurable interest in the chattel sold by such contract is emphatically established. (Brown v. Northwestern Mut. Fire Assn., supra.) Under the law of California (Kleiber Motor Truck Co. v. International Indemnity Co., 106 Cal. App. 709 [ 289 Pac. 865 ]), the seller of a truck may recover the insurance procured by the assignee of the original purchaser notwithstanding that the vendor is ignorant of the fact that the loss was payable to him. He had an insurable interest, covered by the policy “payable as their interest appeared.” Also, under a conditional sales agreement the purchaser has an insurable interest. (Dunne v. Phoenix Ins. Co., 113 Cal. App. 256 , 260 [ 298 Pac. 49 ].) And this is true even beyond the amount actually paid on the purchase price. (Vigliotti v. Home Insur. Co., 206 App. Div. 398 [ 201 N. Y. Supp. 407 , 408].)
Appellant’s efforts to apply the holding of certain authorities have led it into error. The case of Reynolds v. Lon
Appellant’s authorities (James v. Allen, 23 Cal. App. (2d) 205 [ 72 Pac. (2d) 570 ]; Martin Music Co. v. Robb, 115 Cal. App. 414 [ 1 Pac. (2d) 1000 ]; Murphy v. Hellman Commercial etc. Bank, 43 Cal. App. 579 [ 185 Pac. 485 ]; Covington v. Lewis, 83 Cal. App. 8 [ 256 Pac. 277 ]; Frankel v. Rosenfield, 95 Cal. App. 647 [ 273 Pac. 122 ]; Smith v. Miller, 5 Cal. App. (2d) 564 , 569 [ 43 Pac. (2d) 347 ]), are not in point. Those cases merely hold that when the vendor of a chattel under a conditional sales contract elects to disaffirm the contract and repossess the property and enforce the agreement he is bound by his election. That principle is not in conflict with the holding of the Brown case under which Fageol was not only an assured but also became owner of Thomas’ interest in the truck, upon the latter’s forfeiture of that interest and was entitled to payment by Detroit for damage to the truck out of Thomas’ indemnity under the Detroit policy.
Under our view of the language of the conditional sales contract, the Detroit insurance was to stand in lieu of the property lost by virtue of the collision and, therefore, Fageol’s repossession of the truck did not defeat its right to be indemnified for the damage to the property.
“Other insurance.’’
The Detroit policy provided that no recovery should be had thereunder if other insurance covered the loss.
“No recovery shall be had under this policy if at the time a loss occurs there be any other insurance, whether such other insurance be valid and/or collectible or not, covering such loss, which would attach if this insurance had not been effected. ’'
Detroit contends that by virtue of the quoted clause it was released from liability because the “Vendors Single Interest” endorsement on the Pacific policy insuring Fageol against loss by collision was such “other insurance”. However that endorsement does not protect plaintiff against all collision losses but only in the case of “accidental collision . . . occurring while the automobile is in possession of the purchaser [in which event if] the purchaser has defaulted in his payments and the assured has repossessed the automobile [the loss insured shall thereupon be payable]”. Considering the last quoted clause as found in the V. S. I. endorsement, it is self-stultifying. Without interpolating the language enclosed within the brackets, it apparently requires that the possession be in the purchaser and at the same time “repossession” must have been accomplished by the vendor. That which was evidently intended, however, and which under the rule of strict construction it must be held to mean, is that if a collision occurs while the truck is in the possession of the purchaser and if he has defaulted in his payments, and if the vendor has repossessed the automobile, the insurer is thereupon obligated to pay the vendor the loss insured. This is clearly evidenced by other clauses of the V. S. I. endorsement whereby it is provided that the assured, Fageol, after having “repossessed the automobile but has failed to collect overdue balances . . . assured shall give immediate notice of loss to this company”; that the date of the receipt of notice of loss shall be construed as the date of the loss; that the V. S. I. endorsement is specified to be “excess” insurance where specific insurance exists and “shall not apply nor contribute to the payment of any loss until all such specific insurance shall have been exhausted.”
But if there be any ambiguity in the Detroit policy, it must be resolved against the insurer. (32 C. J. 1152, sec. 265.) If to give the quoted clause the meaning contended for would release Detroit from liability, then it must be construed so as to permit recovery since it is “susceptible of such construction." Where two interpretations equally fair may be made, that which affords the greatest measure of protection to the assured will prevail. (32 C. J. 1155, sec. 265; Hartford Steam Boiler etc. Co. v. Cochran Oil Mill etc. Co., 26 Ga. App. 288 [ 105 S. E. 856 , 859].)
The “excess” insurance of the Pacific policy could not have been contemplated by the “other insurance” clause of the Detroit policy for the reason that the liability of the former could not be established where a primary policy was in effect at the time of loss. This principle is exemplified in the case of St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co. v. Garza County Warehouse and Marketing Ass’n, 93 Fed. (2d) 590. The warehouse had obtained a policy from the St. Paul Fire and Marine Insurance Company covering cotton while held in
Upon a consideration of the foregoing, we are impelled to hold that the Pacific policy was excess insurance and that it was not the “other insurance” alluded to in the Detroit policy.
Judgment is affirmed.
Gibson, C. J., Carter, J., Traynor, J., and Pullen J., pro tem., concurred.
Appellant’s petition for a rehearing was denied November 6, 1941.
Cases cited
- De Cicco v. Schweizer 221 N. Y. 431 p. 740
- Duncan v. New York Mutual Insurance 138 N. Y. 88 p. 742
- Kleiber Motor Truck Co. v. International Indemnity Co. 106 Cal. App. 709 p. 744
- Dunne v. Phoenix Insurance 113 Cal. App. 256 at 260 p. 744
- Reynolds v. London & Lancashire Fire Insurance Co. 128 Cal. 16 p. 745
- Martin Music Co. v. Robb 115 Cal. App. 414 p. 745
- Murphy v. Hellman Commercial Trust & Savings Bank 43 Cal. App. 579 p. 745
- Covington v. Lewis 83 Cal. App. 8 p. 745
- Frankel v. Rosenfield 95 Cal. App. 647 p. 745