Majority
This action was instituted by the plaintiff to recover certain disability benefits alleged to be due from the defendant under the terms of a certain policy of life insurance issued by the defendant company.
The policy of insurance was dated March 5, 1929, and provided, in consideration of the payment of the premiums stated therein, that the company would pay to the son of the plaintiff the sum of $3,000 upon the death of the insured, and in the ease of the permanent disability of the plaintiff before the age of 60 years, the company “agrees to pay to the insured thirty dollars each month and to waive payments of premiums as provided therein”. The policy further contained an incontestable clause, reading as follows: “Incontestability—This policy shall be incontestable after two years from its date of issue except for nonpayment of premiums and except as to provisions and conditions relating to disability benefits. ’ ’
The premiums called for by the policy were regularly paid by the insured for a period of over two years, when the insured claimed to have suffered permanent disability, and filed her claim, accompanied by due proofs thereof, with the company for disability benefits under the terms of this policy.
Upon these pleadings, the cause came on for trial before the court without a jury, and after the close of plaintiff’s case and while defendant and cross-complainant was proceeding to put in its evidence in support of its answer and cross-complaint, an objection was made by plaintiff to the introduction of any evidence by the defendant and cross-complainant which might show fraud on the part of the insured in obtaining the insurance policy on the ground that such evidence was barred and precluded by the incontestable clause of the policy hereinbefore quoted. This objection was sustained by the trial court. The defendant thereupon made an offer to prove the- allegation of its answer and cross-complaint, in which it alleged that the insured made certain false and fraudulent statements in respect to her health and previous hospital history in her application for insurance upon which application the defendant company issued to plaintiff said policy of insurance. This offer was refused and the trial court rendered judgment in favor of the plaintiff. From this judgment the insurance company has appealed.
Appellant contends that it had the right to contest said claim and rescind the disability portion of the policy by reason of the false and fraudulent statements made by the insured in said application and that this right is within the exception of the incontestable clause referring to “provisions and conditions relating to disability benefits”. It might be said here that the first page of the policy, except the title page, contains a heading entitled "Total and Permanent Disability”. Under this heading are set forth certain terms and conditions under which the insured is entitled to receive disability benefits.
Appellant concedes that these authorities correctly state the law upon the subject of the effect of an incontestable clause in a life insurance policy, but contends that the exception in such clause in the policy of insurance issued to the respondent expressly included the right to defend on any and all grounds any claim made by the insured for disability benefits and did not debar or preclude appellant from asserting its right to contest said claim and rescind the disability portion of the policy for the alleged fraud and misrepresentation of respondent in her application for said policy.
On the other hand, it is respondent’s contention that the exception in the incontestable clause “as to provisions and conditions relating to disability benefits” reserves only unto the insurance company the right to set up as defenses against any claim for disability benefits, the provisions and conditions set forth in the body of the policy, viz., on page headed “Total and Permanent Disability”, and that fraud not being mentioned as a provision or condition under such' heading, and not being excepted in the incontestable clause itself, that, therefore, the defendant and appellant is barred and precluded by the incontestable clause from contesting the policy and any claim thereunder on the grounds of alleged fraud in the application and precluded from attacking the validity of the policy, or any portion or part thereof, for alleged fraud in the application, or in the procuring or inception of said policy.
In view of these decisions of the federal courts, we think it unnecessary to review the cases from the state courts involving the construction of a clause like that contained in the policy issued to the respondent. They are not in entire harmony, but when considered with those from the federal courts, we think that the great weight of authority supports the position of the respondent in this action. We will, however, refer to one case from our own state, decided by the Third District Court of Appeal, being the only case to our knowledge in this state in which an incontestable clause similar to that contained in the policy issued to respondent has been construed. The case referred to is Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Margolis, 11 Cal. App. (2d) 382 [ 53 Pac. (2d) 1017 ], While the court in that ease held that there was no ambiguity in such a clause, it further held that after the period of con-testability had expired an incontestable clause precludes any defense that the provisions in the policy providing for disability benefits were procured by fraud, and precludes a contest of the policy on any grounds which are not specifically excepted in the clause itself.
The authorities cited herein, we think, without any question support the conclusion reached by the trial court. The judgment, therefore, is affirmed.
Langdon, J., Seawell, J., Nourse, J., pro tem., and Sturtevant, J., pro tem., concurred.
Rehearing denied.
Cases cited
- Dibble v. Reliance Life Insurance 170 Cal. 199 p. 272
- Root Refining Co. v. Universal Oil Products Co. 296 U. S. 626 p. 273
- Stroehmann v. Mutual Life Insurance 300 U. S. 435 p. 273