Majority
On December 5, 1947, the defendant insurance company issued its “Jewelry-Fur Floater” insurance policy reciting that it “Does Insure Mrs. Clara Olson Hereinafter called the Assured, Whose address is 649 Jones Street SaN Francisco, California ... to an amount not exceeding Eighteen Thousand Seven Hundred Twenty aNd No/100 Dollars On Jewelry and/or Furs, as per schedule attached, the property of the Assured and members of Ms or her family of the same domicile, whilst in all situations, against All Risks. ...” (Italics ours.) Attached to the policy was a schedule which itemized the articles covered and the amount of coverage for each. The policy also contained certain conditions. Those that are material to this proceeding will be referred to hereafter. On February 26, 1948, the defendant insurance company issued extended endorsement No. 1 whereby it insured a Hamilton diamond wrist. watch and bracelet in the sum of $4,500. This recited “Issued to Mrs. Clara Olson” and was attached to the above policy.
On July 12, 1948, certain of the articles listed on the above schedule and on the endorsement were stolen from an apartment in Los Angeles then occupied by Clara Olson’s daughter, the plaintiff, Madalynne Paul, who on June 1, 1948, had subleased it from her fiance, George Miller. The loss was promptly reported by respondent’s agent to the defendant insurance company’s agent. On September 1, 1948, the defendant addressed a letter to the plaintiff Olson at her San Francisco address, stating that it “elects to rescind the . . . contract of insurance from the date said contract was entered into ... on account of various concealments and misrepresentation made in connection with the issuance of said policy. . . .” Enclosed with the letter as received by the plaintiff Ol^on was appellant’s check in the full amount of the premium theretofore paid by her. On November 10, 1948, plaintiff Olson returned this check to appellant, together with a notice of rejection of its attempted rescission.
Plaintiff Olson, on February 4,1949, filed this action against
Plaintiffs thereafter were permitted to file their third amended complaint in which they realleged counts I and II of their second amended complaint and added a third and fourth count against defendants Armond J. Hirschfield and the insurance agency corporation bearing his name. In these added counts they alleged that they had employed the new defendants as their agents to obtain the insurance policy in question, that if any false representations or concealments had taken place such were by the new defendants without the knowledge of plaintiffs and that if the defendant insurance company was successful in defeating plaintiffs’ recovery under the policy plaintiffs would then be entitled to recover the amount so lost from the new defendants.
The case went to trial upon the pleadings as above set forth before a court sitting with a jury. Thereafter a verdict was rendered in favor of plaintiff Olson for $5,025 and interest and in favor of plaintiff Paul for $18,150 and interest against defendant insurance company and in favor of the other defendants. From the resulting judgment against it the de
Appellant relies in a considerable measure for a reversal of that portion of the judgment in favor of the respondent Paul on its contention that she was not an insured under the policy and that therefore count II fails to state a cause of action. Appellant argues that the clause “Does Insure Mrs. Clara Olson Hereinafter called the Assured,” designates the insured and that the sentence “On Jewelry and/or Furs, as per schedule attached, the property of the Assured and members of his or her family of the same domicile, whilst in all situations, against All Risks, except as hereinafter excluded, ’ ’ designates what property was insured. It reasons therefrom that only respondent Olson was insured and only as to such property in which she had an insurable interest. With this construction of the policy we cannot agree. It not only violates the clear import of the language but also is contrary to the well established rules of construction of insurance policies. Appellant would have us hold that only the property owned by a member of respondent Olson’s family that is insured is that in which respondent Olson has an insurable interest such as a community property interest in the property of a spouse or an interest in that of a minor child. Such a construction would give little if any effect to the “family” clause since members of a family own much of such property outright. Furs and jewels of a wife are frequently the result of gifts and therefore not community property. It would result in appellant’s being absolved from liability on 80 per cent of the articles for which it accepted a premium. If we considered these terms of the policy were ambiguous we would be forced to come to the same conclusion because of the established rules of construction. A contract of insurance should be most strongly construed against the insurer if such construction is fairly reasonable (see Pendell v. Westland Life Ins. Co., 95 Cal.App.2d 766 [ 214 P.2d 392 ]) ; it should be given such construction as will fairly carry out its object by securing indemnity to the insured for the losses to which the insurance relates (see Fageol T. & C. Co. v. Pacific
Reference to property of the named insured’s family is frequently made in policies similar to the one here involved. However, as is to be expected, appellant has not been able to cite us to any case that supports its construction of the language in question. On the other hand respondents Olson and Paul have cited several cases supporting our conclusion. In the case of Central Manufacturers’ Mut. Ins. Co. v. Friedman (1948), 213 Ark. 9 [ 209 S.W.2d 102 , 1 A.L.R.2d 557 ], the policy recited that it covered property owned by the named insured “and members of the Insured’s family of the same household, while in all situations. ...” The insured’s minor son, having been drafted, lost certain of his property by theft from his quarters in an army post. The court held the insurance company liable for the value of the property lost. In doing so it assumed that the son alone owned the property. In the ease of Balzer v. Globe Indemnity Co. (1924), 211 App.Div. 98 [ 206 N.Y.S. 777 ], the policy read (p. 778 [206 N.Y.S.]): “. . . this policy shall apply to all such property owned by the assured or by any permanent member of the household of the assured ... or by a relative of the assured permanently residing with him.” The insured’s mother, with whom he resided, lost certain of her property by theft from the family home. The court held the insurance company liable therefor.
Appellant also contends that “the evidence is overwhelming” that respondent Paul was not “of the same domicile” as the respondent Olson. Both mother and daughter testified they had made their home in the hotel jointly owned by them and had been living together in the same room ever since long before the policy was issued. This hotel was located at the address described in the policy as 649 Jones Street, San Francisco. Respondent Paul testified that by coming to Los Angeles she had not intended to change that domicile or to make the apartment in Los Angeles her home unless the hotel
Appellant next urges that respondent Paul cannot prevail because she failed to file with appellant’s agent “a detailed sworn proof of loss within ninety days from date of loss” as required by the policy. There was no evidence that either of these respondents complied with this requirement. Yet appellant makes no such contention as to respondent Olson. This is undoubtedly due to appellant’s recognition that that point is not available to it because it renounced the policy and denied liability by its notice of rescission to respondent Olson before the expiration of the 90 days (see Mercer Casualty Co. v. Lewis, 41 Cal.App.2d 918 , 922 [ 108 P.2d 65 ]). Neither is the point available to it insofar as respondent Paul is concerned. It is clear that respondent Olson was the agent of respondent Paul from the earliest insurance negotiations with appellant. While the notice of rescission was directed to respondent Olson it declared that appellant “. . . elects to rescind [the policy] from the date said contract was entered into. . . .” This was a renouncement of the entire policy. Notice thereof to respondent Olson was notice to her principal, respondent Paul.
The “concealments” upon which appellant relies are of two types. One, that both respondents Olson and Paul had had insurance policies cancelled by other insurance companies and under different names within a year prior to the issuance of this policy. Two, that such respondents had admittedly operated houses of prostitution and that respondent Paul had been arrested on several occasions on charges of prostitution. These matters were pleaded as affirmative defenses and the burden of proof therefore was upon appellant, both as to the concealments and as to the materiality thereof. Such concealments, like false representations, do not affect the validity of an insurance policy unless material (see Ins. Code, § 332, and Employers’ Liability Assur. Corp. v. Industrial Acc. Com., 177 Cal. 771 [ 171 P. 935 ]). The jury did not consider them material and we cannot say that as a matter of law they were material. Counsel for appellant has cited us no case so holding. Respondents’ coun
Appellant by its own conduct evidenced its lack of interest, and therefore the materiality to it, as to who were the members of respondent Olson’s family there domiciled with her, what
Appellant complains of the court’s failure to give some of its proposed instructions to the jury and also that some of the instructions given were legally erroneous. We find little cause for such complaints. Most of the instructions so refused were based on appellant’s erroneous interpretation of the clause “members of his or her family.” Many of appellant’s complaints of instructions given are based on its misconceptions of the law referred to earlier in this opinion.
Appellant’s attack upon plaintiffs’ instruction No. 7 is not well founded. It instructed the jury that the ownership of the property was in defendants Olson and Paul. The evidence of such ownership was without conflict. The only issue in that regard was as to the effect of such ownership.
Appellant attacks plaintiffs’ instruction No. 11 on the grounds that it is argumentative in form and is an erroneous statement of the law on the degree of proof required in fraud cases. This instruction reads as follows: “You are instructed that where a question of fraud is involved, if there be two inferences equally reasonable and equally susceptible of being drawn from the proved facts, the one favoring fair dealing and the other favoring corrupt practice, it is the express duty of the jury to draw the inference favorable to fair dealing. Fraud must be proved, though not necessarily by direct evidence, but when the defendant Standard Marine Insurance Co., Ltd’s case goes no further than to establish a state of facts from which the inference of fraud may or may not be reasonably drawn, it has failed to establish its case by a preponderance of the evidence, and it becomes your duty to find in favor of innocence and uprightness. [Italics ours.]
“Now, where the defendant Standard Marine Insurance Co., Ltd., has come into court and set forth in its answer certain reasons why the policy has become void, and certain
Appellant also complains because plaintiffs’ instruction No. 4 refers only to the respondents Olson and Paul having had the same domicile when the policy was issued and fails to declare that respondent Paul was required to have the same domicile as respondent Olson at the time of the loss. However that point was well covered by the giving of defendant insurance company’s instruction No. 15, which declares that if the jury found the respondent Paul prior to loss had changed her domicile by moving to Los Angeles she could not recover. We must assume that the jury considered these two instructions together. By doing so it could not be misled on this point.
After the jury had been considering the case for some time it returned and indicated its desire to have some instructions reread on domicile, fraud and investigation. The court read some but not all of such instructions following which the jury answered affirmatively the following questions by the court: “Now does that cover your question of domicile?”
Read as a whole we find the instructions are adequate and correctly state the law. The jury should not have been misled in any of the particulars claimed by appellant.
The judgments are affirmed.
Shinn, P. J., and Wood (Parker), J., concurred.
A petition for a rehearing was denied March 3, 1952, and defendant and appellant’s petition for a hearing by the Supreme Court was denied April 3, 1952. Edmonds, J., was of the opinion that the petition should be granted.
Cases cited
- Pendell v. Westland Life Insurance 95 Cal.App.2d 766 p. 135
- Fageol Truck & Coach Co. v. Pacific Indemnity Co. 18 Cal.2d 748 p. 136
- Pac. Heating & Ventilating Co. v. Williamsburgh City Fire Ins. Co. of Brooklyn 158 Cal. 367 p. 136
- Berliner v. Travelers' Insurance Co. 121 Cal. 458 p. 136
- Murphy v. Travelers Insurance 92 Cal.App.2d 582 at 587, 588 p. 137
- Mercer Casualty Co. v. Lewis 41 Cal.App.2d 918 at 922 p. 137
- Employers' Liability Assurance Corp. v. Industrial Accident Commission 177 Cal. 771 p. 137
- Hawley v. LiverPool 102 Cal. 651 p. 138
- Kleiber Motor Truck Co. v. International Indemnity Co. 106 Cal.App. 709 p. 138
- Stecker v. American Home Fire Assurance Co. 299 N.Y. 1 p. 138
- Singleton v. Hartford Fire Insurance 127 Cal.App. 635 p. 140
- People v. Finali 31 Cal.App. 479 p. 141