Majority
This is an appeal by plaintiff, Pearl H. Doran, from a judgment in favor of defendant, State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company, after a trial before a jury, in an action to recover upon an automobile insurance policy.
The Record
This appeal comes before us upon an agreed statement of facts, the essentials of which are as follows: On June 1, 1957,[1] defendant insurance company (sometimes hereinafter referred to as “the company”), issued an automobile insurance policy to Joseph E. MeKeever, Jr. (hereinafter referred to as MeKeever), and Donna L. MeKeever, his wife,[2] covering a
1 All date references hereinafter, unless otherwise noted, are to the year 1957.
2 Said husband and wife will sometimes herein be designated as “the McKeevers.’ ’
The policy issued by the company consists of declarations and the company’s policy form 9415.[4] These constitute the entire contract between the company and the insured. The declarations are contained on pages 1, 2 and 3. Page 4 consists of an index. The balance of the policy, pages 5 to 17, inclusive, contains the insuring agreements, policy conditions and mutual conditions. The format of the policy is such that it consists of an envelope in which the policy form is inserted. Pages 1 and 2 of the policy, consisting of declarations, are printed upon and contained within the envelope portion. Pages 4 to 17, inclusive, are contained within and comprise the policy form. The policy number, name and address of the insured, policy period, premium, description of the automobile and a designation of the coverage as defined in the policy form are contained on page 2 of the declarations (i.e., in the envelope part of the policy). The information contained on page 2 of the policy is duplicated on what is called an “X card” which is the company’s principal record of the policy information contained in its files. The company does not keep a copy of the declarations on page 1 (printed on the envelope) or of the policy form (pages 3 to 17, inclusive), because these provisions of the policy are uniform. The policy form (which is inserted in the envelope), contains the standard policy provisions. The insurance information which is peculiar to a particular policy, such as policy period, number of the policy, name and address of the policyholder, premium, description of the automobile, and coverage designations, is stamped by a duplicating machine on page 2 of the envelope and on the “X card,” and, therefore, is always the same on both of these documents.
On August 15, MeKeever made a claim on said policy for the theft of hub caps from said Plymouth automobile. The
3 All address references hereinafter, unless otherwise noted, will he to Concord, California.
4 Hereinafter referred to as the "policy form."
Prior to making said report, and on the same day, Mc-Keever had purchased new hub caps, to replace those which had been stolen, from the Premium Auto Supply. He obtained a sales receipt from that company for the purpose of verifying his claim under his said insurance policy. McKeever testified that he told the salesman at the auto supply company what his address was and the salesman wrote it down. This sales slip was delivered to Graham’s office at the time the claim report aforesaid was made out. This receipt, which bore the address 137 Pine Street, was retained by defendant company. At the time McKeever made said claim report, he actually resided at 135 Pine Street, having moved to said address from the Bonifacio Street address around the 1st of August. The claim for the hub caps was paid by the company’s check, dated August 22, which was mailed by Graham’s office to 137 Pine Street on August 22. Graham testified that said check was never returned to him.
The company provided no particular form by which a policyholder would indicate a change of address, but permitted this to be done by a verbal communication from the policyholder to the company’s agent, with the agent changing the address on his records and notifying the company. The “X card” aforesaid, was introduced in evidence. It shows a pencil line drawn through the printed words and figures “2187 Bonifacio St. Concord Cal” and under it the words and figures “137 Pine St.” in pencil.
On August 20, McKeever purchased a 1955 Plymouth automobile from Fitzpatrick Chevrolet Company in Concord. He
The aforementioned application for insurance, which was unsigned, designated 137 Pine Street as the residence address of the McKeeverg. Said address was handwritten. Among the other portions which were handwritten were the numbers 3338-546-F01-05 opposite the printed words “Old Policy Number.” Graham testified that the handwritten portions of said application were mostly in the handwriting of his wife; that he had no personal knowledge of how or when it was made out; that McKeever never came to his office to fill out the application; that the usual practice, when someone who was already insured purchased another automobile, was to fill out an application upon information received over the telephone from an automobile dealer, because the dealer is desirous of establishing the existence of insurance before he permits the buyer to take possession of the automobile; and that he believed that this procedure was followed with reference to the application in question. Graham testified, further, that he mailed the said application to the company’s head
A copy of the policy form of said policy (pages 3 to 17, inclusive) was introduced in evidence by plaintiff, but not the envelope (pages 1 and 2) in which the same was contained, the McKeevers both testifying that they were unable to find such envelope. The “X card” for said policy on the 1955 Plymouth, bearing policy No. 3355-955-F01-05, was introduced in evidence by the company. Imprinted on said card are the names of the McKeevers, as the named insured, and the address: “137 Pine St. Concord Cal.” Under the notation, “Former Policy,” on said card is the number 3338-546-F01-05. The “X card” for policy No. 3338-546-F01-05 (designating coverage on the 1949 Plymouth) also bears across its face the stamped word “Transferred,” and under it, in pencil, the following notation, to wit: “3355 95505 8-21-57.”
On September 7, McKeever was involved in a collision with another automobile while driving the 1955 Plymouth car. He made a report of the accident on the same day to Graham. With the exception of the handwriting under the designation “ ‘Describe the accident,’ ” which was in McKeever’s handwriting, all of the writing on said report was filled in by Graham. McKeever’s address appears on said report in Graham’s handwriting as 137 Pine Street. Graham testified that he made out the claim report in McKeever’s presence and that he received all of the relevant information, including the address, but excepting the coverage information (i.e., the policy number, the motor number of the car, etc.) from Mc-Keever. The latter, on the other hand, testified that he gave the said information to Mrs. Hopper, and that all of the writing on said report, which was not his, was that of Mrs. Hopper. McKeever testified further that he never gave Mrs. Hopper the address of 137 Pine Street. Mrs. Hopper, in turn, testified that the handwriting on said claim form, apart from that of McKeever, was Graham’s.
The last mentioned claim report contains, in handwriting and opposite the printed words “Policy No.,” the following: “Tr. 8/21/57 from 3338-546-F01-05 ”; and below it, the following: “3355 955 F0105.” Graham testified that this legend meant that the coverage issued under the policy on the 1949
On October 10, the company mailed a letter to the Mc-Keevers at 137 Pine Street, advising them that the company elected to cancel the policy on the said 1955 Plymouth as of 12 .-01 a.m. on October 22, and that a check for the unearned premium was being sent to Graham for disposition. The said letter also suggested that for their protection the MeKeevers should obtain insurance elsewhere before the cancellation date. A copy of this letter was mailed to Graham on the same day, as was a check for the unearned premium. The said check was mailed to the MeKeevers at the 137 Pine Street address by Mrs. Hopper on October 14.
The envelope containing the said letter of cancellation was returned by the post office to the company on October 16. The envelope was marked “ ‘Unknown at this address.’ ” The aforesaid cheek for the unearned premium was, however received by the MeKeevers. McKeever testified that he did not know what the check was for, so he went to Graham’s office to make inquiry. He stated that Graham was not there so he asked Mrs. Hopper what the check was for; that she checked her records and told him she couldn’t tell what it was for; and that she told him to cash it anyway. Mrs. Hopper testified, regarding this incident, that McKeever came into the Graham Agency on October 17; that he asked her what the check was for; that she checked her records and saw therein a copy of the company’s letter of cancellation to the MeKeevers; that she showed this letter to McKeever and told him that his policy had been cancelled; and that she told him that the check was for his return premium. Mrs. Plopper testified also that McKeever then told her that he had never received the letter of cancellation; that she stated that this was peculiar and asked him where he was then living; that Mc-Keever said he thought his address was 135 Pine Street; that she showed him her copy of the letter of cancellation and told him that he had better get other insurance in view of the fact that his insurance would expire as indicated in the
On October 22, the company sent the envelope which had been returned to it by the post office to Graham with a note asking what McKeever’s address was. On October 25, Graham replied to this inquiry to the effect that he had checked with the post office and that McKeever’s address was 135 Pine Street. This reply was received by the company on October 28. The check for the unpaid premium payable to the order of the McKeevers had in the meantime been negotiated and cashed by them, the said check clearing the bank on which it was originally drawn on October 29.
On October 30, the company mailed the original letter of cancellation to the McKeevers at 135 Pine Street with an accompanying letter explaining that the letter of cancellation had originally been mailed to the address given on their application ; that it was the company’s understanding that Graham had already contacted them regarding this matter; and that the check for the unearned premium had been delivered. These letters were received by the McKeevers shortly after the accident which is the subject of the instant action. This accident occurred on October 31, when the 1955 Plymouth operated by McKeever struck plaintiff, causing her to suffer injuries for which she brought an action against McKeever. The company, upon a tender made by the McKeevers, declined to defend said action on the ground that the policy of insurance covering the said 1955 Plymouth had been can-celled on October 22, and refused to negotiate settlement with plaintiff herein on the same grounds. A judgment by default was obtained by plaintiff in this case in her action against McKeever for the sum of $17,428.79. Thereafter, the McKeevers assigned all of their right, title and interest in and to any and all causes of action they may have against the company “ ‘under their policy of insurance number 3338-546-F01-05, ’ ” whereupon plaintiff brought this action against the company for said sum of $17,428.79. The basis of said action was that the company was liable to plaintiff as a third party beneficiary of said policy, for whose express benefit the policy was issued to McKeever, and upon the ground that
In relevant part that portion of each of the subject policies having to do with cancellation by the company read as follows: “The company may cancel this policy by written notice, addressed to the insured named in the declarations and mailed to the address shown therein, ■ stating when not less than ten days thereafter cancellation shall be effective. . . . The mailing of the notice shall be sufficient proof of notice and the effective date and hour of cancellation stated therein shall become the end of the policy period. Delivery of written notice shall be equivalent to mailing.’’
The Question Presented
The main question presented in this case is whether there was in force on October 31 an insurance policy issued, by the company to McKeever which indemnified him for damages for personal injuries to plaintiff herein arising from the operation of the aforementioned 1955 Plymouth automobile. Defendant company maintains that there was no such insurance policy issued by it in force, the contention being that the policy issued by it and affording such coverage was cancelled by it as of October 22 by virtue of the provisions of said policy and as provided by law. Plaintiff contends that the said policy was in force on October 31, and that the purported notice of cancellation by the company was ineffective and inoperative because it was not given to the McKeevers as provided in the policy and by law, in that the said notice was not mailed to the McKeevers at the address last shown on said policy.
Was The Policy Cancelled?
Section 651 of the Insurance Code of the State of California, which was in existence at the time of the events involved in the present case, provides: “Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, no cancellation by an insurer of an auto liability insurance policy shall be effective prior to the mailing or delivery to the named insured at the address
5 At the trial the issue of bad faith was withdrawn from the jury by the trial court. The judge concluded that this issue was one of law for the decision of the court. Accordingly, the jury was instructed that if the notice of cancellation was not effective the jury should return a verdict for plaintiff for the sum of $17,428.79 (the amount" of the judgment in the default proceedings against McKeever); but that if the said notice was effective then the verdict should be for defendant.
Plaintiff does not dispute the company’s unrestricted privilege of cancellation; nor does she question that effective cancellation can be achieved by mailing notice to an insured regardless of whether the notice is received by the policyholder. She complains, however, that the policy was not cancelled at the specified date of October 22 because the notice was not properly mailed, i.e., that it was mailed to the wrong address. The gist of plaintiff’s argument is that there was only one policy issued in the instant case, that is, the policy originally issued on the 1949 Plymouth; and that this policy was subsequently transferred to the 1955 Plymouth. The thrust of plaintiff’s argument is that the notice was required to be mailed to the address shown in this policy; that this address is 2187 Bonifacio Street; and that the notice was not mailed to this address but to 137 Pine Street. It is urged by plaintiff that defendant did not have the right to change the address without the authorization of the McKeevers. In essence, says plaintiff, the company, by changing the address, attempted to modify the insurance contract in a manner not countenanced by the rules applicable to contracts generally. It is accordingly asserted by plaintiff that the company seeks to accomplish modification of an important element of the
6 The policy provides, moreover, that ' ‘ Policy terms which are in conflict with the statutes of the State wherein this policy is countersigned are hereby amended to conform to such statutes. ’ ’
We are satisfied, in view of section 651, that if there was a valid cancellation in the present ease, such cancellation must necessarily be predicated upon the notice of cancellation which was mailed to the insured on October 10. This notice, stating that the cancellation was effective as of October 22, was a timely and a lawful means of cancellation under the rule in Jensen and pursuant to section 651, provided it was mailed to the proper address. The contention made by the company that the policy was cancelled on October 17 when, as testified by Mrs. Hopper, McKeever was shown a copy of the letter of cancellation which he read in her presence, was told that his policy had been cancelled, and was' advised that he had better get other insurance, is not tenable. It is clear that these acts do not constitute a “mailing” of the notice. Nor do they come within the purview of the alternate method of cancellation, i.e., by “delivery” of the notice. In its philological definition the word “deliver” denotes the physical act of transferring possession and implies a change of possession; and while it is not restricted in its definition to manual tradition to the transferee, it includes any physical act by which the transferor effects a change of possession from himself to the transferee. (Benson v. Superior Court, 214 Cal.App.2d 551 , 558 [ 29 Cal.Rptr. 760 ].) It is obvious that by her conduct Mrs. Hopper did not intend to part with the possession of her copy of the letter of cancellation because, after showing it to McKeever, she retained it as a part of the Graham Agency files. Assuming, arguendo, that a delivery did take place, it was, nevertheless, ineffective, because the said notice provided for a cancellation as of October 22, a date less than 10 days after October 17.
The crux of our inquiry, then, is whether cancellation was effected on October 22 by mailing a notice to the McKeevers “at the address shown in the policy....” Plaintiff contends that there was only one policy and that, while the McKeevers had in fact moved to 135 Pine Street, the company was obliged to send the notice of cancellation to the address given by them and which appeared on the policy issued for the 1949 Plymouth, i.e., 2187 Bonifacio Street. There is substantial evidence in the record, however, that two
7 A policy is defined by Ins. Code, $ 380, as follows: "The written instrument, in which a contract of insurance is set forth, is the policy. ’ ’
We do not intend to intimate that an insurance company can take upon itself the prerogative of changing the insured’s address on a policy without the express authorization or agreement on the part of the insured, merely because it receives information that the insured is residing at an address other than the address which appears on the policy. An insured may prefer to receive communications regarding his insurance at an address specified by him in preference to that of his residence. In the absence of any policy provisions requiring that such address be his residence address he should have that privilege. We are not concerned here, however, with the question of a modification of an existing insurance contract involving a change of address, but with an address which becomes a part of the insurance contract upon its issuance and execution as a result of information given to the insurance company in connection with the application for such insurance. There is sufficient evidence in the present ease to substantiate the inference that the new policy covering the 1955 Plymouth contained the 137 Pine Street address when it was issued, as a result of information supplied by the McKeevers, and that this address was given by them as the address to be shown on said policy. Moreover, there is sufficient evidence to establish that this policy was sent to the McKeevers and was received by them. The Mc-Keevers did not deny receiving this policy. Their testimony is that they could not recall whether they received it. In any event, it is significant that the company was not notified after the issuance of said policy that it bore an incorrect address. Accordingly, the company had a right to rely on the information received by it as to the address of the McKeevers. The determination whether the 137 Pine Street address was given to the company by the McKeevers as the address to be shown on the policy was a factual question for the jury. Indeed, the record in this ease demonstrates, as we have pointed out above in several instances, that the vital issues presented were factual and therefore for the jury’s determination. We have no power to judge the effect or the value of the evidence, to weigh the evidence, to consider the
Did the Trial Court Err in Befusing to Give a Bequested Instruction?
Plaintiff claims that it was prejudicial error for the trial court to refuse to give an instruction requested by her to the effect that when the company learned that the 137 Pine Street address in the notice of cancellation was incorrect prior to the date when the policy was to be cancelled, it had the duty to direct a notice of the cancellation to the address which had been previously given, i.e., 2187 Bonifacio Street.[8]
8 The proposed instruction in its entirety reads as follows: "You are instructed that if you find that there is under the terms of the insurance policy and the exhibits and evidence you have heard, reasonably any doubt in the mind of a reasonable person that the insured may have been shown by the declarations in the policy to have had more than one address to which notice may have been sent, it will then be your duty to determine whether the defendant insurance company, upon learning that the first mailed notice did not reach the insured, before the date of cancellation, should have taken other reasonable steps to mail a notice similar to the first notice, to the other address of the insured or to the newly discovered correct address of the insured. You shall then determine under all the facts whether the defendant's insurance company did so reasonably act. "If you find State Farm Insurance Company, defendant, did so reasonably act, then you will find that there was proper notice of cancellation under the policy, but if you find defendant State Farm Insurance Company did not so reasonably act, you will find that there was no *273 effective notice of cancellation, and you will return a verdict for the plaintiff in the sum pf $10,000,00, ’ ’
In view of the conclusions herein reached that there is sufficient evidence to support a finding that the policy covering the 1955 Plymouth was effectively cancelled on October 22, we need not discuss the issues of alleged bad faith in failing or refusing to settle or compromise plaintiff’s claim arising out of the subject accident occuring on October 31;
The judgment is affirmed.
Bray, P. J., and Sullivan, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Jensen v. Traders & General Insurance Co. 52 Cal.2d 786 p. 267
- Benson v. Superior Court 214 Cal.App.2d 551 at 558 p. 268
- Phillips v. Standard Accident Insurance 180 Cal.App.2d 474 at 480 p. 272
- Anderson v. Gano 160 Cal.App.2d 700 at 705 p. 272
- Thayer v. Pacific Electric Railway Co. 55 Cal.2d 430 at 438 p. 272
- Teel v. Gaskill 25 Cal.2d 520 at 526-527 p. 272
- Nordin v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co. 202 Cal.App.2d 739 at 741 p. 272
- Neyens v. Sellnow 202 Cal.App.2d 745 at 748 p. 272