Majority
Plaintiff sought recovery of $5,000 under defendant’s policy which indemnified her for the death of her husband. The cause was submitted for decision on a written stipulation of facts. Plaintiff appeals from judgment entered for defendant. The sole issue is whether the trial court properly construed a certain exclusionary clause in the policy.
Decedent’s death was proximately caused by a collision between a freight train, of which he was a crew member (brakeman), and a truck-trailer loaded with gasoline. In view of his employment as brakeman, it was stipulated (in addition to other matters not here relevant) that the duties which decedent was then performing were incident to the transportation, loading and unloading of freight; it was further stipulated, however, that such duties were not incident to the operation of loading or unloading of passengers. The exclusionary clause in the policy issued by defendant company provided that the indemnity did not apply where death resulted from bodily injury sustained while engaged “in duties incident to the operation, loading, or unloading of, or as an assistant on, a public or livery conveyance. ...” The issue, then, is whether a common carrier of freight is a ‘ public or livery conveyance. ’ ’
Appellant contends that the term above quoted applies only to the transportation of passengers for hire and not to the hauling of freight; respondent, on the other hand, argues against such limited exclusion. Invoking the rule that an insurance policy should be construed most strongly against the insurer, as well as the companion principle that any ambiguity should be resolved against the company, appellant further points out that exceptions or exclusions in a policy are particularly governed thereby since the insurer is under an obligation to spell out any such provisos in clear and unmistakable language. (Prickett v. Royal Ins. Co. Ltd., 56 Cal.2d 234 , 237 [ 14 Cal.Rptr. 675 , 363 P.2d 907 , 86 A.L.R.2d 711 ].) She cites cases,[1] two arising in California,[2] which not only hold that the phrase in question is not ambiguous but, on the
1 Stanley v. American Motorist Ins. Co., 195 Md. 180 [ 73 A.2d 1 , 30 A.L.R.2d 268 ]; Allor v. Dubay, 317 Mich. 281 [ 26 N.W.2d 772 ]; Pimper v. National American Fire Ins. Co., 139 Neb. 109 [ 296 N.W. 465 ]; Elliott v. Behner, 150 Kan. 876 [ 96 P.2d 852 ].
2 American Motorists Ins. Co. v. Moses, 111 Cal.App.2d 344 [ 244 P.2d 760 ]; Allstate Ins. Co. v. Normandie Club, 221 Cal.App.2d 103 [ 34 Cal. Rptr. 280 ].
The above distinction is clearly pointed out by the Supreme Court of South Dakota in Sunshine Mut. Ins. Co. v. Addy, 74 S.D. 387 [ 53 N.W.2d 539 ], where the plaintiff company sought a declaratory judgment that it was not liable under a policy containing the following clause: “ ‘ Exclusion ’ ... ‘ This policy does not apply: (a) under any of the coverages, while the automobile is used as a public or livery conveyance, or for carrying persons for charge, unless such use is specifically declared and described in this policy. . . . ’ ” At the time of the accident, defendant’s truck was being used to haul livestock for hire as a Class B motor carrier under a permit issued by the Public Utilities Commission. Holding that such use of the truck constituted use as a “public conveyance,” the court said: “The fallacy of respondents’ [defendants’] position has to do with this matter of which word, i.e. ' conveyance ’ or ‘public’, is in question. Without exception all the cases cited by respondents on this phase of the case deal not with a type of ‘conveyance’, nor with the question of a conveyance of freight as against a conveyance of passengers but rather with a casual or incidental conveyance of passengers as against an habitual or authorized and licensed conveyance of passengers. As a result the language used in the eases defining the composite term ‘public conveyance’ quite naturally involves only passenger transportation. A reference to freight transportation in these eases would have been wholly extraneous; . . .” ( 53 N.W.2d 539 , 541.) The South Dakota court reached the same determination in a later ease, Allied Mut. Cas. Co. v. Milbank Mut. Ins. Co. 80 S.D. 613 [ 129 N.W.2d 543 ], where a truck employed for ‘‘ custom combining ’ '[3] was destroyed by fire.
3 ‘‘ Custom combining” is thus described in the opinion: ”... the operator proceeds to each field with his combine and trucks, he then cuts the *475 grain with Ms combine at a certain price per acre and hauls the grain to a grain elevator or grain bin at a certain price per bushel.” (129 N.W.2d at p. 544.)
In Life & Cas. Ins. Co. v. Brame, 232 Ky. 63 [ 22 S.W.2d 439 ], the decedent was insured by a policy which included coverage for “ ‘ truck drivers . . . when engaged in the line of their employment, in actually driving or operating a public conveyance. ’ ” (P. 439.) He was killed when a three-wheel vehicle he was driving on a tire service call for his employer collided with an automobile. The reviewing court, while conceding that the vehicle driven by deceased was a truck, held that it was not a “public conveyance” within the mean
The Kentucky court’s use of the word “Manifestly” assumes importance in light of appellant’s closing contention that “we must look to the common definition of the term ‘public or livery conveyance’. ...” While, as noted at the outset, any ambiguity in an insurance contract will be resolved adversely to the insurer, such rule is not without limitation. Some actual or apparent ambiguity must be present before the rule comes into play. (Carabelli v. Mountain States Life Ins. Co., 8 Cal.App.2d 115 [ 46 P.2d 1004 ].) Too, ‘ ‘ An insurance company has the right to limit the coverage of a policy issued by it and when it has done so, the plain language of the limitation must be respected.” (Continental Cas. Co. v. Phoenix Constr. Co., 46 Cal.2d 423 , 432 [ 296 P.2d 801 , 57 A.L.R.2d 914 ].) In view of the fact that the meaning of the subject language was “manifestly” clear to at least one state court of last resort and since the matter was submitted without any extrinsic evidence to aid in the interpretation of the instrument, the trial court’s interpretation of the clause must be accepted if it is ‘‘equally tenable” with our own. (Parsons v. Bristol Dev. Co., 62 Cal.2d 861 , 866 [ 44 Cal.Rptr. 767 , 402 P.2d 839 ].) After careful consideration of the eases hereinbefore discussed, we are inclined to the latter view.
The judgment is affirmed.
Wood, P. J., and Fourt, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Prickett v. Royal Insurance 56 Cal.2d 234 at 237 p. 472
- Allstate Insurance v. Normandie Club 221 Cal.App. 2d 103 p. 475
- American Motorists Insurance v. Moses 111 Cal.App.2d 344 p. 475
- Carabelli v. Mountain States Life Insurance 8 Cal.App.2d 115 p. 476
- Continental Casualty Co. v. Phoenix Construction Co. 46 Cal.2d 423 at 432 p. 476
- Parsons v. Bristol Development Co. 62 Cal.2d 861 at 866 p. 476