Majority
Opinion
The single issue is whether petitioner’s injury arose out of and occurred in the course of his employment. The referee found that it did and awarded medical and continuing temporary disability benefits; the appeals board held that it did not and vacated the award. His subsequent petition for reconsideration was denied by the board. On his petition for review we' issued a writ in discharge of the duty impliedly imposed upon this court to assure (1) that the referee’s finding of compensability was accorded the “great weight" to which it was entitled, and (2) that the ultimate negative result reached by the board was “supported by substantial evidence in the light of the entire record.” (Lamb v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Bd., 11 Cal.3d 274 , 281 [ 113 Cal.Rptr. 162 , 520 P.2d 978 ]; Garza v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., 3 Cal.3d 312 , 318-319 [ 90 Cal.Rptr. 355 , 475 P.2d 451 ]; Le Vesque v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., 1 Cal.3d 627 , 635 [ 83 Cal.Rptr. 208 , 463 P.2d 432 ].) After review of the entire record it appears to us that any difference in views of the evidence between the referee and the appeals board has been substantially resolved or, in any event, is not determinative. The question of compensability thus becomes one of law. (Ross v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Bd., 21 Cal.App.3d 949 , 955 [ 99 Cal.Rptr. 79 ]; Rausch v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., 274 Cal.App.2d 357 , 358 [ 79 Cal.Rptr. 148 ].) We conclude that, while compensability may not be extended by the “personal comfort and convenience” doctrine (2 Hanna, Cal. Law of Employee Injuries and Workmen’s Compensation (2d ed., rev. 1973) § 9.02[2], pp. 9-11), the injury did arise out of and occur in the course of employment under an appro
Petitioner, 22, had worked for two months as a janitor in respondent employer’s establishment in Goleta. He spoke little or no English and had only four years of schooling in Mexico. He started work at 7:30 a.m. and normally finished at 7:30 or 8 p.m., although he had “no certain time to finish.” On May 25, 1973, at about 7:02 p.m. he cut his left hand in a table saw after having “punched out” at 7 p.m.. His assigned duties did not include use of the saw and he had never used.it before. As to his purpose for using the saw and his permission to use it petitioner further testified that he injured his hand while cutting a piece of wood to make a “small bench,” “so I could sit up and eat” “because there were no tables or anything available, and I had my little stove there that I would warm my lunch”; he and other employees ate sometimes while sitting on boxes, sometimes on the floor. Four or five days before the accident he and a co-employee (David Garcia, Jr.) approached the “house superintendent” (Daniel Herrera), and petitioner asked, “ ‘Daniel, would you give us permission to use the machine (saw). David wants to cut a fence . . .’ I asked permission for both of us”; Herrera responded with the admonition “before using it to be sure and punch the [time] card.” When he “punched out” he had finished all of his assigned work and was free to go home but he “wanted to use the machine.” After “punching out” he asked the shipping clerk (Elias Herrera), the superintendent having left, for permission to “use that power saw”; Herrera “was silent for a while, then he said all right.” He understood that only certain employees (not including him) were “authorized” to use the saw, but denied ever being told not to use the saw or seeing any warning sign near it; every time he used something he would ask permission.
Daniel Herrera (superintendent) testified he hired petitioner and supervised his activities; petitioner’s duties consisted of general maintenance— he “generally cleans up after we stop operating about two hours”—and is “due to punch out between six and seven.” There were benches (for eating)
Elias Herrera, the shipping or receiving clerk, testified that at the time of the accident he was the only one in authority on the* premises; he saw petitioner punch out at 7 p.m., then petitioner asked him “ ‘Elias, can I go and use the saw?’ I said, ‘What saw?’ I didn’t know which one at first. He said, ‘electric saw.’ So I hesitated for a moment. I was going to say no, but then he says, ‘Daniel told us that we could use it after we punched out. We could use it.’ Well, I said, ‘if that is the case, why ask me? If he told you you could use it, why, nothing I can do.’ ”
The referee resolved factual conflicts in favor of petitioner and determined the injury to be AGE COE (“arising out of employment” and occurring in the “course of employment”); concluded he had express or, at least, implied authorization to use the electric saw for his personal use; and held that the act that caused petitioner’s injury was contemplated by the employment relationship, citing Possell v. Industrial Acc. Com., 23 Cal. Comp. Cases 122 , and rationale found in North American Rockwell Corp. v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. [Saksa], 9 Cal.App.3d 154 [ 87 Cal.Rptr. 774 , 35 Cal. Comp. Cases 300 , 302]. Respondents’ petition for reconsideration was granted. The referee in his report analyzed the evidence, found that because the clerk gave petitioner permission, the use of the saw became a benefit derived from the employment contract and was authorized
The appeals board found “no reason to disturb the referee’s evaluation as to applicant’s credibility,” but concluded that the facts established by petitioner’s testimony did not justify a finding that his injury is compensable. It did not consider the claim to be governed by Possell and Saksa and observed that since petitioner was instructed not to use the saw until he “punched out,” he did not sustain his injury in the course of his employment, and “the purpose of [petitioner’s] work” does not make his injury a compensable one; and concluded that any benefit the employer would derive from petitioner making a bench is not of such a substantial nature as to justify holding the employer liable. Denying reconsideration, the board reiterated that the injury did not arise out of and occur in the course of employment; petitioner’s use of the saw was entirely personal; the building of a “lunch table” was unknown and uncommunicated to the employer; the employment relation had ceased, the employee having “punched out” and the relationship at the time of the injury had changed from that of employer-employee to what was in effect a licensor-licensee relationship.[1]
In North American Rockwell Corp. v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. [Saksa], 9 Cal.App.3d 154 [ 87 Cal.Rptr. 774 , 35 Cal. Comp. Cases 300 ], relied on by the referee, the workman, who had finished his work shift 13 minutes earlier, was injured in the company parking lot helping a fellow employee start his automobile. An award made on the basis of the “parking lot rule” (a parking lot is an extension of the employment premises, therefore, ordinarily injuries occurring there are covered) was affirmed by this court although its rationale was much broader. After stating the test generally applicable in distinguishing purely personal from employment-related activity, the court referred to those decisions (generally the “personal comfort or convenience” cases) that have extended coverage “to less than common activities.” The opinion included the observations that “Human services cannot be employed without taking the whole package” and “The liability of an employer for injuries sustained by his employees on the employment premises is exceedingly broad.” (P. 159.) In Possell v. Industrial Acc. Com., 23 Cal. Comp. Cases 122 the Industrial Accident Commission
1 “In the opinion of the Board to hold this case compensable would be to ignore the fact that an employee and an employer can co-exist as individuals in a status other than that of employment. Ignoring this fact would discourage, if not eliminate, any friendly interpersonal relationship between the employee and employer. Certainly to hold an employer liable for workmen’s compensation benefits solely because he allows an employee to use equipment on the premises for the employee’s own personal reasons after hours would make an employer hesitate to extend such a courtesy.”
The bearing on this case of either Sákm or Possell is obviously indirect. However, there are two points of misanalysis in the board’s distinguishing of those decisions. First, its notion of a policy consideration (also reflected in the dicta in Possell) that the extension of compensation coverage would be unwise in deterring the employer from advancing certain concessions, benefits or privileges that are of primary interest to the employee has no decisional support, in fact, the suggestion uniformly has been rejected. (See Reinert v. Industrial Acc. Com., 46 Cal.2d 349 , 355-356 [ 294 P.2d 713 ]; Truck Ins. Exchange v. Ind. Acc. Com., 27 Cal.2d 813 , 819 [ 167 P.2d 705 ]; Rausch v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., supra, 274 Cal.App.2d 357 , 364; Winter v. Industrial Acc. Com., 129 Cal.App.2d 174 , 176-177 [ 276 P.2d 689 ].) Second, the term “personal” has an inherent ambiguity as applied to activities or incidents on the fringe of employment. It may mean “entirely personal” and therefore “not arising out of the employment,” or it can mean “individual” or even “uniquely individual” without eliminating coverage. Illustrations from the decisions are many. (Arden-Mayfair, Inc. v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., 33 Cal. Comp. Cases 682 [grocery worker who choked to death on his chewing gum, covered]; Employers etc. Ins. Co. v. Ind. Acc. Com., 41 Cal.2d 676 [ 263 P.2d 4 ] [workman injured during an idiopathic seizure, covered although the genesis of both fall and injury were “personal”].) Similarly, the calculated motivation of the employee in engaging in the activity may be “personal” without the activity being excluded if, in the circumstances, it can also reasonably be described
While there are few cases involving an employer’s mere permission to an employee to use company tools or equipment, or to be or remain on the premises to do so, in the board’s own experience elements in addition to mere permissive use that had the effect of affording coverage seem usually to have been found. (See Ostrenger v. Ind. Acc. Com., 16 Cal. Comp. Cases 252 ; Carter v. Ind. Acc. Com., 16 Cal. Comp. Cases 94 ; St. Comp. Ins. Fund v. Ind. Acc. Com., 15 Cal. Comp. Cases 229 ; see also Shell Oil Co. v. Ind. Acc. Com., 30 Cal. Comp. Cases 1 ; Preferred Acc. Ins. Co. v. Ind. Acc. Com., 15 Cal. Comp. Cases 171 . Compare Bell v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., 34 Cal. Comp. Cases 620 ; Wood v. Socony Mobil Oil Co., Inc., 26 Cal. Comp. Cases 263 .) We do not think that the case at bench properly can be regarded as entirely governed by either the factor of mere permissive use of equipment or the “personal comfort or convenience” doctrine. As to the first, the permission in this case seems roughly equivalent to that in State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., 67 Cal.2d 925 , 927 [ 64 Cal.Rptr. 323 , 434 P.2d 619 ].[2] Nonetheless, it seems clearly to have been “expectable” that permitted use by petitioner of the saw would have had work connections. To raise the qualification attached to that permission that such use be after “punching out” to an “agreement” that the activity be considered “entirely personal” seems an overly “technical” view Of the matter. (Cf. Laeng v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Bd., 6 Cal.3d 771 , 777 [ 100 Cal.Rptr. 377 , 494 P.2d 1 ].) If the case is governed by the personal-comfort-or-convenience decisions, it would be pertinent to determine whether the employer’s dining and attendant
2 In this case the foreman replied to the employee’s request for permission to go swimming in a nearby canal, “. . . do not let no one see you doing it.”
Textwriters have long proposed and California courts have applied a “quantum theory of work-connection” that seems peculiarly appropriate for application here. (See Argonaut Ins. Co. v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd., 247 Cal.App.2d 669 , 683 [ 55 Cal.Rptr. 810 ]; Scott v. Pacific Coast Borax Co., 140 Cal.App.2d 173 , 178-179 [ 294 P.2d 1039 ]; Larson, op. cit. § 29, p. 5-295; 2 Witkin, op. cit. pp. 944-945; Larson, Range of Compensable Consequences in Workmen’s Compensation, 21 Hastings L.J. 609 .) The theory merges the “course of employment” and “arising out of employment” tests, but does not dispense with a minimum “quantum of work-connection.” There were at least these connections between petitioner’s injury and his employment: the accident occurred on the employer’s premises when petitioner was using the employer’s equipment while constructing a bench for his personal comfort to be used on the employer’s premises; and the employer expressly or impliedly permitted petitioner to use its equipment. While none of those facts alone would entail coverage, and in another case unique in its own circumstances the aggregate of them might not do so, they do lend a heavy aura of industriality to this accident. An employer is not a statutory provider of accident, health and life insurance for all incidents on his premises, but as stated in Scott v. Pacific Coast Borax Co., 140 Cal.App.2d 173 , at page 179 [ 294 P.2d 1039 ]: “It is unmistakable from the tenor of the modern cases that the statutory formula for a compensable injury is clearly met when the employment has brought the employee to the place where the accident occurred and if at that time he is engaged in some activity or conduct reasonably attributable to the employment or properly incidental thereto.” In State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Ind. Acc. Com., 176 Cal.App.2d 10 [ 1 Cal.Rptr. 73 ], compensability for a similar injury was decreed on the basis of a single industrial fact; i.e., a previous industrial injury that impaired that workman’s vision and may have contributed to the second off-the-job accident. The fact that this accident occurred outside working hours is not determinative. (See Laing v. Occidental Life Ins. Co., 244 Cal.App.2d 811 , 815 [ 53 Cal.Rptr. 681 ].) As to the “expectability” of this injurious activity, there seems to have been almost an inevitability, known to this employer’s supervisory employees, about this worker and this electric saw coming together; and, of course, any notiop of “fault” on the employee’s part was irrelevant. (See Wiseman v. Industrial Acc. Com., 46 Cal.2d 570 [ 297 P.2d 649 .)
Thompson, J., and Hanson, J., concurred.
Cases cited
- Lamb v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 11 Cal.3d 274 at 281, at 280 p. 364, p. 365
- Garza v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 3 Cal.3d 312 at 318-319 p. 364
- LeVesque v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 1 Cal.3d 627 at 635 p. 364
- Ross v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 21 Cal.App.3d 949 at 955 p. 364
- Rausch v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 274 Cal.App.2d 357 at 358, at 367, at 364 p. 364, p. 365, p. 368
- California Compensation & Fire Co. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 68 Cal.2d 157 at 161 p. 365
- California Casualty Indemnity Exchange v. Industrial Accident Commission 21 Cal.2d 751 at 760 p. 365, p. 369
- North American Rockwell Corp. v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 9 Cal.App.3d 154 p. 366, p. 367
- Reinert v. Industrial Accident Commission 46 Cal.2d 349 at 355-356 p. 368, p. 369
- Truck Insurance Exchange v. Industrial Accident Commission 27 Cal.2d 813 at 819 p. 368
- Winter v. Industrial Accident Commission 129 Cal.App.2d 174 at 176-177 p. 368
- Employers Mutual Liability Insurance Co. v. Industrial Accident Commission 41 Cal.2d 676 p. 368
- State Compensation Insurance Fund v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 67 Cal.2d 925 at 927 p. 369
- Toohey v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 32 Cal.App.3d 98 p. 369
- Nichols v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. 269 Cal.App.2d 598 p. 369
- Laeng v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board 6 Cal.3d 771 at 777 p. 369
- Argonaut Ins. Co. v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. 247 Cal.App.2d 669 at 683 p. 370
- Scott v. Pacific Coast Borax Co. 140 Cal.App.2d 173 at 178-179 p. 370
- Laing v. Occidental Life Insurance 244 Cal.App.2d 811 at 815 p. 370
- Wiseman v. Industrial Accident Commission 46 Cal.2d 570 p. 370