Majority
Headnote
1. Life Insurance—Forfeiture of Policy—Pleading.On the 22d day of January, 1895, the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company issued to the plaintiff its policy of insurance upon the life of Wilhelm Fischer for the amount of $1,000, to be paid to the plaintiff upon the death of the insured. The insured died on the 7th day of February, 1897. The proofs of loss, in the form required by the policy, were duly made out and delivered to the defendant on the 18th day of February, 1897, but the defendant refused to receive them, and thereupon this action was brought to recover the amount to which the plaintiff claimed to be entitled upon the policy. A copy of the policy, with all the conditions, was made a part of the complaint, and set out in full in that paper. The answer admitted that, at the time mentioned in the complaint, the defendant entered into a contract of insurance in writing with Wilhelm Fischer, of which a true copy was set out in the complaint. It contained a denial of certain other allegations of the complaint, one of which was that Wilhelm Fischer performed all the terms and conditions of the contract of insurance to be done and performed by him. In addition to the denials, the defendant alleged, as a further and separate defense, the issuing of the policy of insurance, which was stated to have been issued and accepted upon the express condition that, if any premium or installment of premium upon the policy should not have been paid on or before the date it became due, the policy should thereupon be and become void, and all premiums paid thereon should be forfeited to the company. It was further alleged that on the 22d day of April, 1896, there became due to the defendant, as a quarter-annual premium on that policy, the sum of $6.71, which was not paid. It further alleged that no premiums on that policy had been paid since the 22d of January, 1896, “whereby, by the terms and conditions of said policy, the same became, on the said 22d of April, 1896, null, void, and of no effect, and all premiums previously paid on said policy became forfeited' to the company.” Upon the trial, after the plaintiff had rested her case, the defendant proved that the last premium paid on the policy was paid on the 22d day of January, 1896. It further proved that on the 26th of July, 1896, the policy was declared lapsed by the defendant. There was then offered in evidence by the defendant a notice and affidavit, claimed to be such as is required by section 92 of the insurance law (Laws 1892, c. 690). To this evidence the plaintiff objected upon the ground “that the sending of this notice was not .alleged in the answer; that the evidence offered was incompetent, irrelevant, and immaterial, and does not comply with the statute as to an affidavit that is permissible in such a case.” This objection was overruled and the evidence admitted, and the plaintiff thereupon ex
It is claimed by the plaintiff that the forfeiture of the policy constituted an affirmative defense in the nature of a confession and avoidance, and that, to enable the defendant to take advantage of that defense, all the facts necessary to constitute a forfeiture must be set up in the answer; that one of those facts was the service of a notice required by the statute, because, until that notice was served, the company had no right to declare the policy forfeited; and that, as the service of this notice was not alleged in the answer, proof of it should not have been received. There can be no doubt that the point was sufficiently raised by the objection taken on the part of the plaintiff when the affidavit was offered. As no application for leave to amend was made by the defendant, the plaintiff was entitled to a ruling upon the pleadings as they stood, and if, under those pleadings, this evidence was not competent, the exception was well taken, and the plaintiff was entitled to stand upon it, and to have her case judged by the sufficiency of the pleadings as they were presented to the court upon the trial. Besides many other conditions, the policy contains a provision that, if any premium or installment of premium shall not be paid on or before the date when it becomes due, the policy shall be and become void, and all premiums paid thereon shall be forfeited to the company, except under certain conditions, which are not necessary to be mentioned here. At the time the policy was issued, there was in force in this state section 92 of the insurance law, referred to above, which provided that no life insurance corporation doing business in this state should declare forfeited or lapsed any policy thereafter issued or renewed, nor should any such policy be forfeited or lapsed by reason of nonpayment, when due, of any premium or installment, or any portion thereof, required by the terms of the policy to be paid—
“Unless a written or printed notice stating the amount of such premium, interest, installment or portion thereof, due on such policy, the place where it should be paid, and the person to whom the same is payable, shall be duly addressed and mailed to the person whose life is insured, or the assignee of the policy, if notice of the assignment has been given to the corporation, at' his or her last known post-office address, postage paid by the corporation, or by an officer thereof, or person appointed by it to collect such premium, at least fifteen and not more than forty-five days prior to the day when the same is payable. The notice shall also state that unless such premium, interest, installment, or portion thereof, then due, shall be paid to the corporation, or to a duly appointed agent or person authorized to collect such premium by or before the day it falls due, the policy and all payments thereon will become forfeited and void, except as to the right to a surrender value or paid-up policy as in this chapter provided. If the payment demanded by such notice shall be made within its time limited therefor, it shall be taken to be in full compliance with the requirements of the policy in respect to the time of such payment; and no such policy shall in any ease be forfeited or declared forfeited or lapsed, until the expiration of thirty days after the mailing of such notice.” 2 Rev. St. (9th Ed.) p. 1174.
As the policy in question was issued after this statute was passed, the conditions of the policy are controlled by the provisions of the statute, and there could be no forfeiture until the company had served the notice required by this statute, and the insured had had his 30 days given by the statute to pay the arrears of the premiums. To
Before the defendant could raise any question in regard to the nonpayment of the premium, it was necessary to show that it had complied with the statute by serving the notice, as this step was essential to put the insured in default or to raise any point based on his omission to pay the premium. It was admitted by the pleadings that the policy was issued as alleged in the complaint. The plaintiff began the trial of the action, therefore, with a conclusive admission that there was at one time a valid contract of insurance between herself and the defendant; and the burden of showing that the contract was invalid was imposed upon the defendant. Under the Code of Procedure, it has been settled for many years that whenever it is necessary for the defendant, by way of defense, to show any fact which, starting with the proposition that there has been a valid contract between parties, proposes to defend a claim under it by establishing a subsequent performance or a subsequent forfeiture of it, such performance or forfeiture is an affirmative defense, and must be affirmatively set out before it can be proved. -This doctrine was established in the case of McKyring v. Bull, 16 N. Y. 297 , and the argument is so well stated by Judge Selden in that case that it is not necessary to be repeated here. The forfeiture of this policy was an affirmative defense. It could only be established by proof of the facts which warranted it. Those facts were two in number. One was that the premiums had not been paid; the other was that the notice required
But we .think that the affidavit offered in evidence was not competent for another reason. The statute prescribes:
“The affidavit of any officer, clerk or agent of the corporation, or of any one authorized to mail such notice, that the notice required by this section has been duly addressed and mailed by the corporation issuing such policy shall be presumptive evidence that such notice has been duly given.” 2 Rev. St. (9th Ed.) p. 1175.
The only proof in the case that this affidavit was made by one of the persons mentioned in that statute was contained in the affidavit itself. We think that that was not sufficient to warrant the admission of the affidavit in evidence. Except as otherwise authorized by statute, only common-law evidence can be given upon the trial of an action. It is undoubtedly true that the rules of evidence in that regard are subject to modification and control by the legislature, and that body may declare an affidavit, or any other certificate or statement, prima facie evidence of any fact necessary to be proved. Howard v. Moot, 64 N. Y. 262 . But for the statute, the proof of the service of this notice could only be made by the testimony of a witness who should be produced upon the trial, and be subject to cross-examination; but it was competent for the legislature to say that an
Concurrence
For this error, the judgment and order should be reversed, and anew trial granted, with costs to the appellant to abide the result of the action. All concur, except INGRAHAM, J., dissenting.
I concur in the conclusion arrived at by Mr. Justice RUMSEY, and, in the main, with his reasoning. The case should be treated as though the law were incorporated in the policy, and its provisions interwoven with the terms and conditions of the contract. The courts take judicial notice of public statutes. It is not necessary to plead them, for it cannot be necessary to plead what it is not necessary to prove. Consequently, the plaintiff’s position is the same as though the statute thus embodied in the contract were pleaded in her complaint. When she alleged performance of the terms and condi-, tions of the contract, she simply pleaded performance of what was essential to her right of action,—that is, to those terms and conditions upon the performance of which the defendant’s liability rested. As to the premium, the allegation of performance was, in effect, an allegation of payment at the time specified in the policy, upon the reminder to the assured contemplated by the statute. As to that re
Dissent
The only question presented on this appeal is as to the admissibility of the affidavit of one C. J. Goulden, under section 92 of chapter 690 of the Laws of 1892. The action is brought to recover on a policy of life insurance, whereby the defendant insured the life of one Wilhelm Fischer. The complaint alleges that the said Wilhelm Fischer, mentioned in said policy of insurance, duly performed all the terms and conditions of said contract of insurance on his part to be done and performed. The answer admits the issuance of the policy, but denies the allegation just referred to, and alleges as a separate defense that the said policy was issued and accepted upon the express condition in writing, set forth in the agreement between the parties, that, if any premium or installment of premium upon said policy should not be paid on or before the date it became due, the policy should thereupon be and become void, and all premiums paid thereon should be forfeited to the company; that on the 22d day of April, 1896, there became due and payable to the defendant company, as a quarter-annual premium on said policy, the sum of $6.71; that the said premium has not been paid, nor any part thereof; that no premiums on said policy of insurance were paid subsequent to the 22d day of January, 1896, whereby, under the terms and conditions of said policy, the same became on the said 22d day of April, 1896, null and void and of no effect, and all premiums previously paid on said policy became forfeited to the company. The plaintiff put the policy, and the written application therefor, signed by the insured, in evidence. By the conditions upon which the policy was issued, and to which by its terms it was subject, it was provided that, “if any premium or installment of premium upon this policy shall not be paid on or before the date it becomes due, this policy shall thereupon be and become void, and all premiums paid thereon shall be forfeited to the company.” The defendant introduced
As to the first objection taken by the plaintiff to the affidavit, we think it was properly overruled. The policy, upon its face, required the payment of the premiums upon the days named, and was issued in ■consideration of the payment thereof; and the condition upon which the policy was issued, and which was made a part of the policy, was that the failure to pay any premium on or before the day it became due should render the policy void. It would seem that, to entitle the plaintiff to recover, it was necessary to allege and prove that the insured had complied with the conditions of the policy on his part. Assuming this obligation, the plaintiff alleged in her complaint that the assured duly performed all the terms and conditions of said contract of insurance on his part to be done and performed. This was an express allegation of performance. This allegation the defendant denied, and set up the provisions of the policy by which it became void upon the failure of the insured to pay any premium required to be paid, and alleged that, by reason of the failure of the assured to pay such premium, the policy did become void. The issue presented, therefore, was whether the assured had performed all the terms and conditions of the policy, and whether, by his failure to pay the premiums which became due subsequent to January 22, 1896, the policy, by its terms, had become void. Under the policy, no action of the company was required to avoid it upon the failure of the assured to pay the premiums required to be paid. By force of the provisions
“The contract, as pleaded, provides for the regular payment by the assured of the annual premiums, and such payments are made the condition of any claim thereunder, and the nonpayment of such premiums causes the policy to become null and void, and forfeits to the company all payments made thereon. These conditions were lawful, the parties were competent to enter into them, and, unless performance or its equivalent is alleged, the plaintiff has failed to state a good cause of action, and must abide by the case as-shown by her complaint.”
See, also, Mathews v. Insurance Co., 11 N. Y. 11 .
It does not appear from the record what evidence the plaintiff- submitted to prove this allegation of the complaint, but, the plaintiff being bound to allege and prove the performance of the conditions upon which any obligation of the defendant could be predicated, the defendant was entitled to prove that such allegation was not true,, and that the assured had failed to perform the conditions provided for in the policy, and to pay the premiums thereby required to be paid, and thus avoid the policy. By section 92 of the insurance law (Laws-1892, c. 690) the legislature has provided that:
“No life insurance corporation doing business in this state shall declare forfeited, or lapsed, any policy hereafter issued or renewed, and not issued upon the payment of monthly or weekly premiums, or unless the same is a term insurance contract for one year or less, nor shall any such policy be forfeited, or lapsed, by reason of non-payment when due of any premium, interest or installment or any portion thereof required by the terms of the policy to be paid, unless a written or printed notice stating the amount of such premium, interest, installment, or portion thereof, due on such policy, the place where it should be paid, and the person to whom the same is payable, shall be fully addressed and mailed to the person whose life is insured, or the assignee of the policy, if notice of the assignment has been given to the corporation, at his or her last known post-office address, postage paid by the corporation, or by an officer thereof, or person appointed by it to collect such premium, at least fifteen and not more than forty-five days prior to the day when' the same is payable.”
The effect of this provision was to postpone the forfeiture of a policy by reason of the nonpayment of a premium therein provided to-
The other objection to this affidavit seems to me to be equally untenable. The evidence is not a part-of the record, the plaintiff- presenting upon this appeal a bill of exceptions to present the exception to the admission of this affidavit. It does not appear but that there was evidence that the person making this affidavit was an employé, -officer, clerk, or agent of the defendant, authorized to mail such notice. As there is no case presenting the evidence, we cannot assume, for the purpose of reversing this judgment, that this fact was not proved by competent evidence; and this is emphasized by the objection to the affidavit, as it did not call the attention of the court to this specific point,—the objection that the affidavit is not admissible because it is not proved that the affiant was an officer or employé of the company not having been taken. And as it does not appear from the record that there was no evidence of the fact necessary to make such an objection, if taken, of force, we certainly would not be justified in reversing the judgment because this bill of exceptions does not show that there was no evidence of such fact. The notice complied with the section of the statute before referred to. It stated the amount of the premium due on the policy, the day when due, the person to whom, and the place where, the premium was to be paid.
As this is the only question presented by the record, it follows that the judgment should be affirmed, with costs.
Cases cited
- Baxter v. Brooklyn Life Insurance 119 N. Y. 450 at 455, 23 p. 263, p. 265
- McKyring v. Bull 16 N. Y. 297 p. 263, p. 265
- Weaver v. Barden 49 N. Y. 286 at 297 p. 265
- Howard v. Moot 64 N. Y. 262 p. 265