Majority
Headnote
1. Insurance—Fire Policy—Arbitration—Prejudiced Appraiser—Fraud.This is an action to set aside an award made by appraisers appointed pursuant to the arbitration clause contained in a standard insurance policy, and to recover on the policy for a fire loss. The referee found that the plaintiff’s signature to the appraisal agreement was procured through fraud, and that consequently said agreement and the award made thereunder were void, and should be vacated and set aside. The policy provides that the loss or damage shall be ascertained or estimated according to the “actual cash value” of the property at the time of the fire, “with proper deductions for depreciation, however caused,” and shall in no event exceed what it would then cost the insured to repair or replace the same with material of like kind and quality. It further provides that:
“In the event of disagreement as to the amount of loss, the same shall, as above provided, be ascertained by two competent and disinterested appraisers, —the insured and this company each selecting one,—and the two so chosen shall first select a competent and disinterested umpire. The appraisers together shall then estimate and appraise the loss, stating separately sound value and damage, and, failing to agree, shall submit their differences to the umpire; and the award in writing of any two shall determine the amount of such loss. The parties thereto shall pay the appraiser respectively selected by them, and shall bear equally the expense of the appraisal and umpire.”
The appraisal agreement was executed by plaintiff, this defendant, and three other insurance companies interested in the loss, viz. the British-American Insurance Company, the Svea Assurance Company, and the Eire Association of Philadelphia. The appraisal was demanded by one Locke, who at that time was authorized to represent all of these companies excepting this defendant. The evidence presented in behalf of plaintiff was sufficient to authorize a finding that Locke represented to plaintiff that Vanderwerf, the appraiser named by him, was a business man residing in Rochester, and not a professional appraiser for insurance companies; that he had never appraised for any of the companies interested in this loss; and that he was a proper man to act as appraiser. . Plaintiff was not acquainted with Vanderwerf or with his business, and relied upon these representations, and did not discover their falsity until after the appraisal. It was shown upon the trial that Vanderwerf’s principal business for the past four or five years had been representing insurance companies in appraising their losses, and that he had during this time made, on an average, 100 such appraisals annually. It also appeared that Locke knew that Vanderwerf had represented this defendant and the Fire Association of Philadelphia as appraiser at least once, and the British-American Insurance Company often, and possibly 50 times. Locke also knew that Vanderwerf had seldom acted as appraiser for the insured, and that for many years he had frequently represented insurance companies as appraiser. Sturtevant, the general agent of the Svea Company, who was present at the negotiations for the appointment of appraisers, and heard
In Bradshaw v. Insurance Co., 137 N. Y. 137 , 32 N. E. 1055 , where it was represented to the insured that an appraiser named by the company was “entirely disinterested and indifferent,” when, as a matter of fact, he had frequently represented the same and other companies, the court held that the clause in the policy calling for “competent and disinterested” appraisers means one who is not “biased or prejudiced,” and that in view of the representations a question of fact was presented,—as to whether the appraiser, in view of his having so often acted for the defendant and other insurance-companies, was disinterested; and the court say:
“I think the evidence in this case is ample to justify the finding of the-court that the representations were made, that they were false, that they induced the consent to the appointment of the appraiser, and that he was not disinterested. While it may be true that, in the appointment of these appraisers each party nominates some one who may be supposed friendly to the side nominating him, yet he should at the same time be disinterested, or, in other words, fair and unprejudiced. The duties of these appraisers are to give a just and fair award,—one which shall honestly and fairly represent the-real loss actually sustained by reason of the fire; and it is not the duty of either appraiser to see how far he can depart from that purpose and still obtain the consent or agreement of his associate, or, in case of his refusal, then of the umpire. It is proper and to be expected that all the facts which may be favorable to the party nominating him shall be brought out by the-appraiser, so that due weight may be given to- them; but the appraiser is in no sense, for the purpose of an appraisal, the agent of the party appointing or nominating him, and he remains at all times under the duty to be fair and unprejudiced, or, in the language of the policy, disinterested. When a false statement is made in regard to the attitude of a proposed appraiser, for the-purpose of inducing consent to his appointment, which is in that way obtained, and where concealment is practiced in regard to his real attitude to- the company nominating him, and when in fact he is not disinterested, good ground' is shown for setting aside an appraisal which is grossly below the actual loss sustained, although it has been concurred in and agreed to by the appraiser nominated by the insured. * * * Whether this agreement for appraisers-be determined to be an arbitration or not is immaterial. The parties, in the policy, had stated what kind of appraisers were to be appointed; and each party had the right to believe that any specific representation of the other as to any material fact in regard to a proposed appraiser being disinterested were true and might be relied on, and if they turned out false, under the circumstances herein alleged and found, a good cause of action was proved.”
If the facts already adverted to are not sufficient to sustain a finding that Vanderwerf was not a disinterested, unbiased, unprejudiced appraiser, the finding may he supported by the conduct of the appraisers. The appraiser designated by the plaintiff was inexperienced. He and Vanderwerf met and visited the ruins one afternoon
It was contended that plaintiff had no notice of the time and place of the meeting of the appraisers, but the evidence fails to show whether he had notice or not; and the burden was doubtless upon him of showing want of notice, if he were seeking to set aside the award upon that ground. Butler v. Mayor, etc., 1 Hill, 489 . But the sole ground upon which plaintiff seeks to avoid the award is fraud, and the failure to give notice can have .no bearing, excepting upon, the question as to the misconduct of the appraisers. The rule at common -law, and under the statute and Code, requiring notice to the parties of the meeting of arbitrators, and an opportunity to present evidence (Halstead v. Seaman, 82 N. Y. 27 ; Day v. Hammond, 57 N. Y. 479 ), has not been applied with strictness in all cases of insurance appraisals. Such appraisals are regarded as still more informal, and the appraisers are not obliged to give the claimant any formal notice or to hear evidence,—at least, not in all cases; and yet it is quite clear that, unless the insured waive it, he must either have notice or knowledge of the meeting of the appraisers, and an opportunity to draw their attention to the items of his loss, and make representations and explanations to them concerning the nature thereof, and thus insure a consideration of his entire claim, and guard against omissions and misconduct. Linde v. Insurance Co., 50 N. Y. Super. Ct. 362 ; Remington Paper Co. v. London Assur. Corp., 12 App. Div. 218 , 43 N. Y. Supp. 431 ; Strome v. Same, 20
The next question is whether the award is so inadequate that it should be set aside. It is urged that by the language herein quoted from the Bradshaw Case the court of appeals laid down the rule that the award must be “grossly below the actual loss sustained,” to require that it be set aside. This language is not to be taken literally. If the appraisal agreement is void, and substantial damages have been sustained, it must be that the property owner may have an action to set aside the award and recover his damages; but in the present case the appraisers awarded plaintiff $3,031, while the referee has found that his damages amounted to $3,930.28, being $899.28 more than the award. If this finding be supported by the evidence, it is manifest that the award was even grossly inadequate, if that were necessary. Plaintiff’s evidence showed that his loss was far in excess of the amount awarded by the referee, and is ample to sustain the decision in this regard.
The appellant in this case contends that the award made by the appraisers cannot be set aside, as against it, even though plaintiff «was induced to sign the agreement through the fraud of Locke, inasmuch as Locke did not represent it, and was not authorized to act in its behalf. The evidence* indicates, but does not clearly show, that the appraisal agreement was sent to this defendant’s agent by Locke for approval and signature after plaintiff had signed and forwarded it to Locke. It does not appear that this appellant knew of the representations made by Locke. It is urged on behalf of respondent that the insurance company, by subsequently signing the appraisal agreement, acknowledged or ratified Locke’s authority to rep
It follows from these views that appellant is not entitled to the benefit of the appraisal agreement, and that the judgment appealed from should be affirmed, with costs. All concur; ADAMS, P. J., and McLENNAN, J., in result only.
Cases cited
- Bradshaw v. Agricultural Insurance of Watertown 137 N. Y. 137 p. 346
- Halstead v. Seaman 82 N. Y. 27 p. 347, p. 348
- Day v. Hammond 57 N. Y. 479 p. 347
- Linde v. Republic Fire Ins. 50 N. Y. Super. Ct. 362 p. 347
- Remington Paper Co. v. London Assurance Corp. of England 12 App. Div. 218 p. 347
- Cram v. Cranford 162 N. Y. 627 p. 348
- Elmendorf v. Harris 5 Wend. 516 p. 348
- Elmendore v. Harris 23 Wend. 628 p. 348
- Van Cortlandt v. Underhill 17 Johns. 405 p. 348
- Strome v. London Assurance Corp. 20 App. Div. 571 p. 348
- Dunning v. Leavitt 85 N. Y. 30 at 35 p. 349
- Fairchild v. McMahon 139 N. Y. 290 p. 349