Majority
Headnote
Insurance—Change oe Ownership—Consent op Insurer—Evidence—Verdict—New Trial—Discretion. In an action on an insurance policy by an assignee, the assignor testified at the first trial that immediately after the assignment he informed defendant’s agent thereof, and that the assignee desired the insurance kept in force, and the agent stated that it would be done, but made no indorsement on the policy. On appeal the judgment for the assignee was reversed because it was not proven that the agent agreed to make the necessary indorsement on the policy. On the second trial the assignor testified as before, and added that the agent did so agree, but on cross-examination could not explain wherein his present testimony differed from that on the former trial. The agent on both trials denied the entire conversation, and there was no other evidence thereof. Held, that an order setting aside the verdict in favor of the assignee, rendered on the second trial, as against the weight of evidence, in the exercise of the discretion given the. judge by Code Civ. Proc. § 999, should not be reversed.The action was originally tried in January, 1900, before the court and a jury, and resulted in a judgment in favor of the plaintiff for the value of the property destroyed. Upon that trial the plaintiff’s assignor testified, was corroborated by other witnesses, and it was established to the satisfaction of the jury, notwithstanding the denial by the defendant’s agent, that after he executed and delivered a general assignment for the benefit of creditors to the plaintiff he called upon defendant’s agent, informed him of the fact, and stated, in substance, that the assignee desired the insurance kept in force, and would pay the fees therefor; that the policy was not in his possession, but was in a safe, of which a former partner had possession; that defendant’s agent stated, in substance, that the insurance would be kept in force; that it would be all right. The agent, however, did not make any indorsement on the policy in respect to the change of interest in the property insured, as required by the terms of the policy, and it was not proven that the agent agreed to make such indorsement. An appeal from such judgment was taken by the de
Dissent
“There Is no standard by which to determine when a verdict may be set aside. It depends upon the discretion of the court.”
In Lyons v. Connor, 53 App. Div. 475 , 65 N. Y. Supp. 1085 , recently decided in the Second department, the court said:
“While the learned trial justice could not take the case from the jury ‘unless the fact is either uncontradicted or the contradiction is illusory,’ this did not at all hamper his right to set aside the verdict as against the weight or the preponderance of the evidence. Luhrs v. Railroad Co., 11 App. Div. 173 , 42 N. Y. Supp. 606 ; Bagley v. Bowe, 105 N. Y. 171 , 11 N. E. 386 , 59 Am. Rep. 488 . The justice presiding at the trial term is acute, experienced, and learned. He saw the witnesses, and was not confined, as we are, to the record of their words. If he were convinced that the preponderance of evidence or the interests of justice required him to set aside the verdict, he acted properly. Ferguson v. Gill, 74 Hun, 566 , 26 N. Y. Supp. 596 .”
In Glassford v. Lewis, 82 Hun, 46 , 31 N. Y. Supp. 162 , Martin, J., in writing the opinion of the. court, cites with approval the following language:
“It is at all times a grave question for an appellate court to reverse, on the ground of error, an order made by the trial judge setting aside the verdict as against the weight of evidence.”
In McConnell v. Railroad Co., 63 App. Div. 545 , 71 N. Y. Supp. 616 , recently decided by this court, although holding that the evidence in that case presented a question of fact to be determined by the jury, and although we did not have the opportunity of seeing the witnesses, but were confined to the record of their words, it was held that the verdict should be set aside because against the weight of evidence, and the judgment in favor of the plaintiff was reversed upon that ground. Many other cases might be cited which conclusively establish that it was not an abuse of discretion on the part of the learned trial court to set aside the verdict of the jury in this case. Lund v. Spencer, 42 App. Div. 543 , 59 N. Y. Supp. 752 ; Edall v. Railroad Co., 40 App. Div. 617 , 57 N. Y. Supp. 914 . Williams v. Railroad Co. (Sup.) 73 N. Y. Supp. 38 , recently decided by this court, not yet officially reported.
We think the provision in the order appealed from as to the costs to be paid by the defendant does not err as against plaintiff. It follows that the order appealed from should be affirmed, with $10 costs.
Order affirmed, with $10 costs.
ADAMS, P. J., and HISCOCK, J., concur.
(dissenting). On the first trial of this action Wallace G. Northam did not testify that the insurance agent, Goodale, agreed to make an indorsement upon the policy denoting the transfer of title, to the insured property to the assignee. The court of appeals,
“It is the province of the former, not the latter, to weigh the testimony given in the light of all the circumstances surrounding it.” And again: “In-this case the plaintiff gave testimony which, if credited by the jury, would have entitled him to a verdict. The trial judge apparently did not credit it, and it is quite likely that his view of the testimony was the correct one;, but the difficulty with the situation is that, under our method of procedure, it was the province of the jury, not the court, to say whether his testimony was entitled to belief.”
In those cases there was apparently a much more flagrant attempt, to fit the testimony to the changed condition than in the present one. Northam did not contradict his testimony on the former trial, but supplied an important fact omitted, although essential to a recovery -r and he is borne out to a certain extent in his narrative by two other witnesses. It is also to be observed that apparently Northam has-
I realize that much latitude should be allowed a trial judge upon? motions of this kind, and have high regard for the fairness and discernment of the learned judge who granted this motion; but, as & view the case, it presented a question of fact for the jury, and the court exceeded its authority in overturning the verdict, as it was not against the weight of evidence. Where there is a clear question of fact, it is not the province of the court to set aside the conclusion reached by the jury because it is not in accord with the judgment: of the trial judge. I think the order should be reversed, and the verdict of the jury sustained.
WILLIAMS, J., concurs with SPRING, J.
Cases cited
- Northam v. Dutchess County Mutual Insurance 166 N. Y. 319 p. 30
- McDonald v. Metropolitan Street Railway Co. 167 N. Y. 66 p. 30
- Bagley v. Bowe 105 N. Y. 171 p. 31
- McConnell v. New York Cent. & H. R. R. Co. 63 App. Div. 545 p. 31
- Lund v. Spencer 42 App. Div. 543 p. 31
- Williams v. Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad 155 N. Y. 158 p. 32