Major J.
Facts
Q. All right. Now, what you’re commenting on now, I gather, is the manner in which the statement was taken from you you believe to be unfair; is that correct?
A. I thought -- yeah, after reading it I felt -- basically he had written it down all in his handwriting which is quite hard to read.
Q. Yes.
A. And the only time I got a copy of it was when I was talking to Bill Neen. And he wasn’t going to give me a copy but I said I’ve got -- he wouldn’t give me a copy unless I produced the other copy of basically the writing that looked like chicken scratch. So I gave him that and he gave me a written copy and I looked through it and read it and I found he did, you know, being an insurance adjuster, of course, modified it to tailor his needs, fitting in a few words here and there. And I didn’t like that at all.
None of the parties objected to the reference to an insurance adjuster nor did the trial judge comment on it.
Q. . . . My question is that you were concerned about the financial affairs of The B.C. Rugby Union?
A. Yes.
Q. And you are concerned that this lawsuit is going to hurt those financial affairs, now aren’t you?
A. Not at all.
Q. You’re not at all?
A. No. I assume some insurance company is going to pay for it.
No objection was made by any of the counsel after this reference to insurance. However, the trial judge interrupted and made the following comments:
The Court: I just want to stop you for a moment, Mr. Stanton, I’m sorry. Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I may just forget that last answer in my charge to you. I just want you to be aware that you do not and will not decide this case on the basis that maybe somebody else is going to pay for it. You’ve heard that answer and it shouldn’t have come out. It did come out and I just want to warn you now that that has nothing whatever to do with this case or how you decide this case. You decide this case on the evidence before you.
Mr. Stanton: That was not intentional on my part.
The Court: No, Mr. Stanton, I’m not suggesting for a minute it was. I’m not suggesting for one minute that it was. I just want to warn the jury that they’re to just totally ignore that answer.
RULE 41
. . .
(6) Where, for any reason other than the misconduct of a party or his counsel, a trial with a jury would be retried, the Court, with the consent of the party who required a jury trial, may continue the trial without a jury.
The Hamstras were given the weekend to decide, and elected to continue before the judge sitting alone. At the conclusion of the trial the action was dismissed: (1989), 1 C.C.L.T. (2d) 78 (B.C.S.C.).
Judgments below
Supreme Court of British Columbia (1989), 1 C.C.L.T. (2d) 78
I am concerned here from the impression that I formed when Mr. Legh gave this evidence to the effect that he assumed an insurance company would pay for this, that the jury may well have formed the impression that I did, and that is that in fact there is insurance here. . . .
It is with great reluctance that I have concluded that the evidence of Mr. Legh even standing alone, but especially coupled with that of Mr. Baldo, is such that The B.C. Rugby Union might be prejudiced by that reference. I say that because of the position of The B.C. Rugby Union as a voluntary non-profit organization.
. . .
I am concerned that it will be difficult for this jury, no matter what I may say to it, to get out of its heads the impression that I formed, if they should, that there is insurance here and that this could have a material impact on their deliberations when it comes to The B.C. Rugby Union. And I emphasize that in this case it is references which might lead to an improper verdict as opposed to references which would inevitably lead to an improper verdict.
In any event, even if the standard of care that the court will exact from The B.C. Rugby Union is the ordinary standard of care that is exacted from any other person in a negligence action, I still have the concerns I have expressed before in these Reasons.
And there is no doubt in my mind that the prejudice may well be there, and it is enough if it might lead to an improper verdict.
I repeat again that I have done this with the greatest of reluctance. We have had 14 days of trial. They have been difficult days some of them. Counsel, I know, have done their best. I must say in these Reasons that I am not faulting anyone for any of these statements that came out. I am satisfied they were all unintentional but they are there and there is nothing I can do about that.
Now, on the basis of what I have said before I have no alternative but to exercise my discretion and to discharge this jury and I so do.
Court of Appeal for British Columbia (1995), 4 B.C.L.R. (3d) 127, with additional reasons (1995), 8 B.C.L.R. (3d) 136
Issues
2. If the trial judge did err in discharging the jury, are the respondents entitled to a new trial despite their election to continue before the trial judge sitting alone?
Analysis
Did the trial judge err in discharging the jury owing to the references to the possibility that B.C. Rugby was insured?
The Law
I do not understand there to be disagreement between the learned Justices of Appeal as to the principles to be deduced from the cases discussed in their reasons. They appear to me to agree (i) that where something occurs during the course of the trial from which the jury may reasonably infer that the defendant is insured the services of that particular jury should be dispensed with; (ii) that the trial judge should afford counsel a full opportunity of making submission before deciding what course should then be followed; and (iii) that having done so it is for the trial judge to decide whether to continue the trial himself without a jury or to direct that the case shall proceed before another jury. I respectfully agree with Laidlaw J.A. that the application of these principles is not dependent on the answer to the question as to which counsel inadvertently brought about the mention of insurance.
He concluded that, since the jury might have inferred that the defendant was insured, the trial judge had erred in refusing to discharge the jury and continuing the trial. However, the defendant’s appeal was dismissed because the trial judge had given the defendant the choice of proceeding with the same jury or with the trial judge sitting alone, and the defendant had declined to elect, and therefore the defendant could not now complain that the trial judge had proceeded with the same jury. Kellock J. writing for himself and Estey J. disagreed only with this last point. He would have allowed the appeal because the trial judge should have ordered a new trial.
But it would be absurd, I humbly think, for us to affect not to know what is notorious, namely, that defences by or on behalf of insurance companies are not favoured, but the reverse, by juries. If it came to the knowledge of a jury that the defence is not by or on behalf of one of their neighbours, but of an insurance company, which is paid to protect the neighbour against just such risks, this must have a strong effect upon them in arriving at a conclusion.
A defendant, whose business possibly constitutes the main industry of the town, who employs dozens or hundreds of operatives, whose fortnightly pay-lists find their way into the pockets of people in the town and in the county who deal in the necessities and luxuries of life, is looked on with a more favouring eye than is the stranger insurance company. Therefore, the improper practice of trying to inform the jury who the real defendant is ought to be stamped out. The mere putting of the question does all the mischief. The jury will draw their own inferences from the objection taken by defendants’ counsel and the ruling of the Court. The real defendant is placed in a position of manifest and incurable disadvantage. The proper course for the Judge in such a case would be to discharge the jury, and put off the trial to the next ensuing sittings or, preferably, to discharge the jury and try out the case himself.
It is questionable whether the principles enunciated by the majority in the Theakston case are valid today, even when the trial judge concludes that the evidence is such that the jury would infer that the defendant is insured. . . . [The] rationale has been invalidated by the requirement that all motorists be insured, a fact of life well known to the jury. Furthermore, that knowledge does not appear to have had the effect predicted. . . .
. . .
. . . powerful evidence that juries are aware that defendants are insured and this fact has not beclouded their judgment. Telling the jury that the defendant is insured merely tells them what they already know.
In McCormick on Evidence (4th ed. 1992), vol. 1, §201, at pp. 856-57, the authors criticize the analogous prohibition in the United States against admitting evidence that the defendant is insured:
Despite its nearly universal acceptance, the wisdom of the general prohibition on injecting insurance into the trial, as it currently operates, is questionable. When the rule originated, insurance coverage of individuals was exceptional. In the absence of references to insurance at trial, a juror most probably would not have thought that a defendant was insured. Today, compulsory insurance laws for motorists are ubiquitous, and liability insurance for homeowners and businesses has become the norm. Most jurors probably assume that defendants are insured.
A majority of the Supreme Court of New South Wales made the following statement in Wellington v. Lake George Mines Pty. Ltd., [1962] S.R. (N.S.W.) 326, at p. 327:
We wish to say at once that in our opinion the discharge of a jury is, by reason of the attendant consequences of frustration and delay in the administration of justice, such a serious step that it should only be taken where real injustice cannot otherwise be avoided. Thus to discharge a jury in an accident case in these days of practically universal insurance because a reference to insurance is inadvertently made during the hearing is, in our opinion, an outmoded and wrong procedure.
I take the law, therefore, to be established as laid down in Loughead’s case, with which I respectfully agree. While it may come about that as a result of compulsory insurance or other circumstances, the mention of insurance before a jury may lose the significance which, up to the present, it has been considered to have in cases of the character under discussion, I do not think that circumstances have sufficiently changed since that decision to render its principle no longer applicable.
Laskin J.A. (as he then was) made a similar observation on behalf of the Court of Appeal for Ontario almost twenty years later in Hellenius v. Lees, [1970] 1 O.R. 273 (C.A.), aff’d [1972] S.C.R. 165, at p. 280:
The rationale of the law -- that prejudice may result by revealing to the jury that there is an insurance fund (albeit of an undetermined amount) which is available to answer all or part of the claim against a defendant -- may be regarded as somewhat ingenuous today in the light of common knowledge of the prevalence of motor vehicle insurance. . . .
I have a high regard for the intelligence and common sense of Canadian juries and for the ability of trial judges to explain difficult concepts of law to the jury.
In R. v. Corbett, [1988] 1 S.C.R. 670, Dickson C.J. stated at p. 692:
The very strength of the jury is that the ultimate issue of guilt or innocence is determined by a group of ordinary citizens who are not legal specialists and who bring to the legal process a healthy measure of common sense. The jury is, of course, bound to follow the law as it is explained by the trial judge. Jury directions are often long and difficult, but the experience of trial judges is that juries do perform their duty according to the law.
See also R. v. Hill, [1986] 1 S.C.R. 313, per Dickson C.J., at p. 334. While these statements refer to juries in criminal cases their abilities remain as reliable in civil trials.
. . . essentially, as I see it, the court must weigh all of the circumstances of the particular case and determine whether the disclosure which has been made would likely result in real prejudice such that it would be unjust to continue the trial as presently constituted.
It is submitted that the change in circumstances alluded to by Kellock J. in his dissent has occurred and it is time to re-assess Theakston v. Bowhey, in light of that change. This change has been recognized by our trial courts and by the highest court. Juries know about insurance and there is no evidence that their verdicts have been unduly affected. There is therefore no justification for assuming that a mention of insurance is ipso facto a miscarriage of justice. The tri-partite rule in Theakston v. Bowhey, should be replaced by one rule. A party complaining of a reference to insurance should be required to persuade the trial judge that a substantial wrong or miscarriage has been occasioned. The Court of Appeal should not interfere with the trial judge’s decision unless it has not been judicially exercised.
If disclosure of the fact of insurance really is prejudicial, the corrective is not a futile effort at concealment, but the usual fulfillment by the court of its function of explaining to the jury its duty to decide according to the facts and the substantive law, rather than upon sympathy, ability to pay, or concern about proliferating litigation and rising insurance premiums.
Application to the Facts of this Case
I am concerned here from the impression that I formed when Mr. Legh gave this evidence to the effect that he assumed an insurance company would pay for this, that the jury may well have formed the impression that I did, and that is that in fact there is insurance here. . . .
It is with great reluctance that I have concluded that the evidence of Mr. Legh even standing alone, but especially coupled with that of Mr. Baldo, is such that The B.C. Rugby Union might be prejudiced by that reference.
. . .
I am concerned that it will be difficult for this jury, no matter what I may say to it, to get out of its heads the impression that I formed, if they should, that there is insurance here and that this could have a material impact on their deliberations when it comes to The B.C. Rugby Union. And I emphasize that in this case it is references which might lead to an improper verdict as opposed to references which would inevitably lead to an improper verdict.
. . .
I repeat again that I have done this with the greatest of reluctance. . . .
Now, on the basis of what I have said before I have no alternative but to exercise my discretion and to discharge this jury and I so do.
In any event, even if the standard of care that the court will exact from The B.C. Rugby Union is the ordinary standard of care that is exacted from any other person in a negligence action, I still have the concerns I have expressed before in these Reasons.
As the trial judge made it clear that his decision to discharge the jury did not depend on the standard of care, the standard he proposed and ultimately imposed on B.C. Rugby is irrelevant in this appeal.
Conclusion
If the trial judge did err in discharging the jury, are the respondents entitled to a new trial despite their election to continue before the trial judge sitting alone?
Disposition
Cases cited
- 1 C.C.L.T. (2d) 78 1 C.C.L.T. (2d) 78 ¶ 6, ¶ 7
- 4 B.C.L.R. (3d) 127 4 B.C.L.R. (3d) 127 ¶ 7, ¶ 8
- O’Neil v. Pacific Great Eastern Railway 24 D.L.R. (3d) 628 p. 630 ¶ 8, ¶ 30
- 8 B.C.L.R. (3d) 136 8 B.C.L.R. (3d) 136 ¶ 8
- Bowhey v. Theakston scr-1951-679 p. 687 ¶ 11, ¶ 12, ¶ 13, ¶ 14, ¶ 15, ¶ 16, ¶ 17, ¶ 18, ¶ 19, ¶ 21, ¶ 29, ¶ 30
- O.R. 524 O.R. 524 ¶ 11
- Koebel v. Rive O.R. 448 ¶ 12
- Hellenius v. Lees 1 O.R. 273 ¶ 14
- Hellenius v. Lees item-4190-1971-04-27 p 280 ¶ 14
- R. v. Swain 19758-1991-05-02 ¶ 15
- R. v. Corbett 19220-1988-05-26 ¶ 15
- R. v. Hill 17457-1986-04-24 ¶ 15
- Morin v. Rochon 42 O.R. (2d) 301 ¶ 16
- Jackson v. Inglis 7 O.A.C. 377 ¶ 16
- Cameron v. Excelsior Life Insurance Co. 27 N.S.R. (2d) 218 ¶ 16
- Currie v. Nova Scotia Trust Co. 1 N.S.R. 274 ¶ 16
- Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development v. Ranville et al. 16218-1982-09-28 ¶ 18
- Michaud Michaud, supra ¶ 20
- Action Action, supra, at p. 33 p. 33 ¶ 21
- Evidence Evidence, supra ¶ 24
Statutes and regulations cited
-
Unresolved citations
- s. 7 ¶ 6